Let me introduce myself…

06Jul07

I never thought I would be writing and sharing thoughts and ideas about baking in my very own blog, but here I am. I have been an avid follower of many different baking and food blogs over the years and have always wanted my own.

Since this blog is about me and my adventures in baking and all things sweet, here are a few points about me:

  • I’m 21 and live in Melbourne, Australia.
  • I used to be a chocoholic and have recently converted. I’m a vanilla girl now!
  • I own almost one hundred biscuit/cookie cutters (which I hardly ever use).
  • I have a degree in food science and nutrition (everyone knows 99% of what I bake is not good for the arteries or the waistline, but I can tell you why).
  • I love to cook regular food too, I’m just more interested in the sweet stuff.
  • I used to be a pastry chef apprentice (but only for 5 months).
  • I don’t just love baking… I am also in love with a boy. Let’s call him Z :)

There’s nothing I love more but to bake. Without sounding too poetic, to me, I find it truly amazing that with a handful of simple ingredients, a bit of love and patience, you can produce something special as a cake for a birthday, biscuits to share over a cup of tea, or a delicious crumble for dessert.

Sometimes I wish I was just able to bake and make a career out of it, or even be blessed with the artistic eye as a food stylist/photographer (ooh, I wish I was a food stylist – it would be so interesting and creative, but I’m not that creative). And having been down the path as a pastry apprentice, the scale at which I would have to bake/produce and the pressure involved, it just doesn’t feel right to pursue that career. So I only bake for pleasure now. Which is fine for me! :)

This blog is simply a place where I can put my thoughts to paper (well, web-page actually). I’m not a literary marvel, nor am I an outstanding photographer. I’m just your average, everyday kind of girl who simply likes to bake (and lick the bowl). So I hope you enjoy my blog, where I will post recipes, display my lame attempts at photography and discuss Melbourne food, with the occasional rambling rant about nothing in particular :)

Welcome to butter sugar flour

Linda xx

3 Responses to “Let me introduce myself…”

  1. 1 tara

    Kudos on your inaugural post; you are truly charming. Cheers and all the best to you in this new endeavor.

  2. 2 lisa g

    Hey, great page dude.
    Well written and great food. You better be making me some, lol.

  3. 3 Tracey

    Linda,

    You are full of surprises! I am totally blown away by your interesting web page. The photos are just beautiful. The recipes are just as delicious and I might even give baking a go.

    Well written and great recipes. You go girl!

    Cheers,
    Tracey (Chi Thuy)


Leave a Reply

