I like to read about food…

10Jul07

I have an obsession. Okay, ‘obsession’ may be little strong to describe it, but I like to read about food, baking and all things kitchen related (and no, I don’t mean the the back of cereal boxes or tinned tuna). From cookbooks and magazines to newspapers and the Internet, I read it all. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not a full blown foodie or culinary expert, I don’t eat out at fancy restaurants every week and there are particular foods that I just can’t stand but might seem normal to others (mushrooms, most cheeses and natural yoghurt). In particular, I just have a fascination with books and magazines with beautiful photography and easy to follow recipes.

Embarrassingly, I purchase a copy of Delicious, Gourmet Traveller and Donna Hay each month. Usually I don’t even make anything out of these magazines, I just enjoy looking at the food styling and photography and keep up to date with the latest food trends, or learn what’s in season. I like to flick through my books and magazines when I need some inspiration or want to re-visit a favourite page.

I like cookbooks… Below is part of my collection (I’m terrible I know):

books.jpg

I also never miss a Tuesday edition of The Age newspaper either – I love reading Epicure and discovering where new Melbourne foodie places exist.

As geeky as this sounds, I love heading down to Fitzroy and visiting Books for Cooks. This place has hundreds of books about food, often hard to find books or good quality seconds. From books solely about potatoes and eggs, Moroccan cuisine and Korean food, Pierre Herme to the Roux Brothers, this place has it all. I’d happily spend hours sitting on their comfy couch flicking through a tall pile of books and dreaming of what to bake/cook next (which I have been known to do).

Every now and then, I will randomly post bits and pieces that aren’t really baking related (for example, this one!) but they will usually be food-related and describe my adventures in exploring new foodie places in Melbourne!

3 Responses to “I like to read about food…”

  1. 1 sway

    I buy Delicious every month too…but the recipes are great. Some have become staples!

  2. Oh dear, we are much alike. People think I’m strange, but now that I have read your blog I know that I’m not alone. I discovered your blog this morning & have really enjoyed reading your posts. I have the day off today & you’ve inspired me to spend it cooking.
    Have a great day.
    Kitty

  3. i stumbled across your blog and thought i’d start at the beginning and came across this post. i also buy gourmet traveller, donna hay and delicious each month and rarely seem to cook anything out of them! And I am also the biggest hoarder of cookbooks!


Leave a Reply

