Banana Cake with Chocolate Ganache

05Aug07

One of all my all-time favourite cakes to make is this one. It is chock-a-block full of bananas (6 big ones in total!) and the rich chocolate ganache just completes it perfectly. It is absolutely delicious and I always get rave reviews!

Usually when I bake a cake, for a birthday or a celebration of sorts, I often reserve the smallest amount of cake batter so that I can make a very tiny 4-inch version for Z. That way, he always gets to taste what I have made and have his own special little cake. I know I should stop making these cakes for him (it’s not the healthiest of options), but I can’t help it! Little cakes are so cute to make, decorate and admire. This is one of the many reasons I love to make cupcakes, but I’ll leave that for another post.

Pictured below is my special little cake for my always special Z :)

bananachoccake31.jpgbananachoccake21.jpg

bananachoccake81.jpg

I will share my simple recipe for chocolate ganache…

Chocolate Ganache

(to cover a 20 centimetre cake)

250ml thickened cream

200g good quality dark chocolate, chopped (or half/half with milk chocolate if you like it sweeter)

25g unsalted butter

  1. Place all ingredients in a heatproof bowl (metal, glass or ceramic).
  2. Balance the bowl on top of a saucepan which is a third full of simmering water (also known as a double boiler). Make sure the bowl does not touch the water, or the chocolate will seize and turn hard and horrible.
  3. Stir the ingredients until the chocolate has melted and has become smooth and shiny.
  4. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.

You can use the ganache while it’s still rather warm and runny and pour it over your cake, or you can leave it to thicken before use (this way, you can create a lovely, big swirly effect on your cake).

2 Responses to “Banana Cake with Chocolate Ganache”

  1. 1 Annalisa

    What about the banana cake recipe? Is it top secret?

  2. 2 Linda

    Yep it sure is :)

    I’ll give you a tip for the best banana cake though, use blackened bananas and use lots! I’m talking 6 for one cake. It makes it lovely and moist and very banana-y.


Leave a Reply

