Raspberry Lemon Muffins

08Sep07

muffin.jpg

Farmer’s Markets are gaining immense popularity here in Victoria. Markets pop up every week, usually on a Saturday, and I’ve always wanted to visit one, but I’ve never had the chance to, as in the past 3 years, I’ve always worked on the weekend (as a poor student pulling shifts at Max Brenner and as a pastry apprentice), but now that I’m working Monday to Friday (which I love), my Saturdays are free to do as I please.

ingredients.jpg

I was going to visit the Bundoora Farmer’s Market last week, but had to pick my parents up from the airport at 8am (not fun!) so all week, I was looking forward to visiting the Collingwood Farmer’s Market today, especially since the weather was absolutely magnificent (sunny, 20°C, blue skies and not a cloud in sight). It was the perfect day to go, but I couldn’t :(

Why didn’t I go? Well, last night while driving home from the train station, I noticed this strange ‘pffft pffft’ noise coming from my car. I knew it wasn’t my anything under the bonnet, and intrigued, I pulled over and had a look. At this point, it was 7 in the evening and already pitch black. As soon as I got out of my car, my heart sank. Yep, a flat tyre.

I was tired. I was sleepy. I was absolutely starving and all I desperately wanted was to go home, eat and head straight to bed. I had a spare tyre in the boot and I do know how to change a tyre (unlike many young females in my generation), but I just couldn’t be bothered. I was only one minute away from home and I thought “Bugger it, let’s drive this baby home” (my ‘baby’ is a red 1994 Ford Laser in case you’re wondering). I drove her home, traveling at 40km/hr all the way, pissing off every single driver behind me, copped a few dirty looks (sorry!) and finally got home in one piece. Don’t you just hate it when things go wrong when you least expect it?

So, anyway, this morning…

Excited to be going to the market, I quickly replaced the flat tyre with my spare one, but then realised the spare tyre was an old one which already had a hole in it from an incident last year. How bloody pissed off was I? Answer: very. Dad has nagged me constantly and begged me to buy a new spare tyre, but as usual, I’d just shrug it off and reply with a “yeah, yeah, yeah”. (I regret that now Dad, sorry!)

So after all that, I took my car to the tyre dealer and bought 4 new tyres (I needed them anyway). Two and a half hours and $280 later, it was too late to go to the market as it finished at 1pm. The Collingwood Farmer’s Market will have to wait until next month! :(

At least these muffins cheered me up! :)

ingredients3.jpg

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

(adapted from a recipe by Susan Elizabeth Fallon found on Epicurious)

Lemon sugar

¼ cup caster sugar

Zest of 2 lemons

Muffins

1 cup caster sugar

125g unsalted butter, softened

2 cups plain flour, sifted

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup buttermilk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1.5 cups of raspberries (fresh or frozen – I used frozen because they aren’t in season as yet)

10g unsalted butter (to brush on top of the muffins to make the lemon sugar stick)

raspberries.jpg lemon.jpg

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line a 12-hole muffin tray with papers.
  2. For the lemon sugar, combine the caster sugar and lemon zest together in small bowl and mix well.
  3. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl and set aside.
  4. Cream the remaining caster sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add the egg and mix well.
  5. Add the buttermilk, vanilla extract and half of the lemon sugar and mix well (it will look rather nasty and lumpy, but don’t be scared – keep going!)
  6. Fold in the flour mixture (don’t worry if there are lumps). Gently fold in the raspberries.
  7. Divide the batter into the prepared muffin tin and bake for approximately 25 minutes or until golden brown and tested with a skewer.
  8. In the last minute of baking, quickly melt the spare butter and have the lemon sugar ready.
  9. As soon as the muffins are removed from the oven, using a pastry brush, moisten the tops of the muffins with a little melted butter and liberally sprinkle the lemon sugar on top.
  10. Cool on a wire rack.

raw-muffins.jpg

5 Responses to “Raspberry Lemon Muffins”

  1. 1 Food Matters

    Yum. They look fabulous!

  2. 2 Mr. Z

    Looks beautiful bub! Very proud of you… there’s not a day you don’t open my eyes to another one of your amazing talents. Oh and your grammar is, as always, impeccable.

  3. 3 Tracey

    Simply beautiful, bloody tasty!!!

  4. 4 nut

    6.30pm in Singapore + knock-off time/ dinner time = not good to see yummy pictures~~ *growling stomach*

  5. These are phenomenal! I love citrus flavors and love raspberries…


Leave a Reply

