Chewy Chocolate Chunk Slice

15Sep07

I am a published writer. Yes, my work has been printed in a book…

Okay, okay, I lied. I’d love to have my own book one day and I’m not really a published writer, but I have had one of my recipes published in one.

recipe.jpgepicure-book.jpg

Last year, to celebrate their 20th anniversary, Epicure invited readers to submit chocolate recipes for their book, Epicure Chocolate: Recipes from 20 Years of Indulgent Ideas. Naturally of course, I submitted this wickedly delicious recipe and was chosen. My recipe even got a photograph and a double page spread, which I’m rather chuffed about. It is one of the easiest recipes ever, and it tastes oh so good!

chocolate-and-nuts.jpg

Chewy Chocolate Chunk Slice

(my very own recipe which can be found in Epicure Chocolate)

1 cup of self-raising flour, sifted

1/2 cup dessicated coconut

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

125g butter, melted

400g tin of condensed milk (yes, a whole tin!)

100g dark chocolate

100g white chocolate

1/2 cup chopped nuts (either almonds, macadamias, pecans, walnuts, a mixture – I like macadamias, but it’s up to you)

icing sugar, to dust (optional)

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease and line with baking paper a 22cm square cake tin (I find it easiest with oil spray, but you can use butter, whatever).
  2. Combine the flour, coconut, brown sugar, cocoa powder, melted butter and condensed milk and mix well.
  3. Spread this extremely thick mixture (you could plaster walls with this stuff!) into the prepared tin (eat as much raw batter as you can at this point too).
    chocolate-slice-base.jpg
  4. Roughly chop the chocolate into largish chunks and press into the base. Sprinkle the nuts over the base.
  5. Bake for about 25 -30 minutes (the slice will be firm on the top and very soft in the middle – don’t be scared, it firms up on cooling).
  6. Remove from the oven and let it cool completely in the pan (I know it may be hard to resist, but you have to wait until it’s completely cold. If you remove it while it’s hot, or even warm, be prepared to cry because it will fall apart. I don’t want to be the one who says “I told you so”). Cut into squares or bars and dust with icing sugar if desired.

bars3.jpg

15 Responses to “Chewy Chocolate Chunk Slice”

  1. 1 sus

    Congrats!!
    That’s awesome. So proud of you Lin.

  2. You had me at “chewy chocolate”. This looks absolutely divine! I’m hoping to try this out; you reckon it be possible to omit the coconut? A lot of my loved ones aren’t big fans of coconut :p

  3. To be honest, you can’t really taste the coconut; it’s very subtle. But omit it, you can do whatever you like! :) Let me know how it turns out!

  4. 4 JEP

    Mmm…chewy, chocolately & coconut-ty…sounds delicious!

  5. Congrats! That’s so exciting and it looks awesome!

  6. My husband and I were craving something sweet today… but we only had a few ingredients. No granulated sugar or anything else we would need to make cookies or whatever, so I did a search for flour, brown sugar, cocoa powder and butter and found this recipe. We had to omit the coconut, chocolate chips and nuts, but I have to tell you this was SO DELICIOUS! I hope you don’t mind that I posted the recipe on my family blog and linked your blog as well! My husband and I are enjoying this recipe so very much and know it will become a family favorite!

  7. 7 Linda

    Marissa, SO happy you enjoyed the recipe even though you omitted some ingredients. Come back anytime for more yummy recipes :)

  8. 8 audrey

    these look amazing! can’t wait to try them

  9. 9 Hannah

    These look divine!

    I would love to try them I just have one queery. Is the condensed milk sweetened condensed milk? Here in the UK I’ve only ever seen sweetened condensed milk and not just condensed.

    Thanks

    x

  10. Hi Hannah!

    I’m pretty sure sweetened condensed milk is the same as condensed milk :)

  11. 11 Kim

    So easy and quick to make. And the best thing was, it turned out fabulous!!!
    I followed all your instructions and I was fighting the kids off until it cooled completely. A major success!
    Congratulations on such a creative and delicous masterpiece.

  12. I love your recipe and it is my favourite in the book. We have made it countless times and I am asked for the recipe every time someone tries it. My mother’s recipe is in the book too…the Chocolate Mud Cups. Don’t tell her I prefer your recipe though!

  13. 13 Kat

    I made this last night and it is awesome! I am bringing it to a party this weekend. Luckily I bought enough ingredients to make 2 batches as I think I need one just for me… Thanks for the recipe!!

  14. 14 Michelle

    My son can’t have wheat so substituted with Gluten free self raising flour – deliciosa!!!!! Thankyou for something new.

  15. 15 josh

    this is the best recipe ever

    i’ve had it countless times and it just keeps getting
    better


Leave a Reply

