Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Biscuits

24Sep07

Some bloggers are obsessed with blogging. Me? I love writing on this blog and it is still fairly new but I’m not obsessed… yet :)

Although I am not a daily blogger, I find myself developing strange blogging habits:

  • When shopping (and especially at markets), I scour the tables/shelves for unusual pieces (such as bowls and plates) that would look good photographed.
  • When I bake for the blog, I bake during the daytime hours only so that I can use the bright natural sunlight for better quality photos (I think a lot of bloggers/photographers do this!). If I bake in the late afternoon or night-time, I simply take shots the next day.
  • I randomly purchase odd bits of paper and fabric that would make good photo backgrounds – thanks Lincraft!. I now have a box of patterned paper ready to be used during times of creativity (I have a penchant for spots and stripes if you haven’t noticed).

Odd behaviour aside, one great thing about this blog, is that it has allowed me to develop a love of photography, so now I am saving up for a digital SLR and photography lessons (I have my eye on this one and it is not cheap!). Hopefully I’ll be able to inherit my dad’s old Canon SLR (which I think I should considering he hasn’t used it in years) and get a chance to fiddle around with it. I have even attained a copy of Adobe Photoshop, but I have no idea how to use it.

This blog has inspired me greatly and has allowed me to get my creative juices flowing. It brings a smile to my face to be able to bake something yummy, write something totally random about it, style the end product and then bring it all together here on this blog.

Just for you, I will share a delicious recipe for Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Biscuits. They are crisp, yet chewy; packed with crunchy peanuts and little morsels of dark chocolate. Enjoy!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Biscuits

(adapted from the wonderful book ‘From My Home To Yours’ by Dorie Greenspan (one of America’s baking sweethearts))

2 ½ cups plain flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

Pinch of cinnamon

230g unsalted butter, softened

1 cup peanut butter (crunchy or smooth – I used smooth)

1 cup brown sugar

¾ cup caster sugar

2 eggs

1 cup salted peanuts, chopped (easiest way is to place in a plastic bag and bash it around with a rolling pin, Jamie Oliver style)

½ cup dark chocolate chips (I prefer to chop up a block of good chocolate instead – I used Lindt this time)

¼ cup granulated white sugar (just like the type you use in your coffee)

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line two baking trays with non-stick paper.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat the butter for a minute or two until it is smooth and creamy.
  4. Add the peanut butter and thoroughly combine. Add the sugars and beat until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating for a minute between each addition (don’t forget to scrape down the sides of the bowl every now and then!).
  5. Throw in the flour mix and beat until just combined. Add the chocolate and peanuts (the mixture is quite soft, so don’t be alarmed).
  6. Roll tablespoons of dough into balls and place them on the baking tray about 5 centimetres apart. Flatten them slightly with the tines of a fork so you get those lovely indentations.
  7. Sprinkle them liberally with sugar and bake them for around 10-12 minutes or until light golden brown (the biscuits will be slightly soft). Repeat with remaining mixture. Place the biscuits on a wire rack to cool.

 

8 Responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Biscuits”

  1. You don’t need photography lessons! Your images rock.

    And those biscuits by the way, are pure pure evil :-) I must have some.

  2. You can’t have one because there are none left!

    I ate them all :)

    Thanks for your kind words about my photos. I’m still very much a beginner and I think lessons would really help!

  3. 3 Mr. Z

    Linda, you are an obsessive compulsive blogger… you love it!

  4. I made these cookies a while ago when I bought this book and wow. I almost made myself sick because I loved, loved, LOVED the batter. You can’t mess up chocolate and peanut butter. Honestly, I could’ve eaten the whole bowl, nausea aside.

  5. 5 Julie

    Hi! Like you I love baking! I am new to the world of blogging and love to find new blogs! Your blog is great and you have found wonderful ways to take pictures. I am still learning. Thanks! I am going to try these peanut butter biscuits. I will let you know how they turn out!
    Thanks again. Happy Baking!

  6. 6 Tiffany

    Hi Linda, I realise it has been an eternity since you popped this blog up (seriously I wouldn’t even know how to pop a blog up – perhaps with a good plumber?!), but I am wondering if you got around to getting that SLR and having lessons? How did it go? Why did you choose that particular camera? I am on the brink of an SLR purchase and what you said interested me… Cheers.

  7. 7 yvette

    These are simply gorgeous. I think I’m becoming addicted to your recipes Linda! They just always work out for me- so rare ;p

  8. 8 Michael

    Howdy, I’m new at cooking so sorry for being naieve but
    step 4 is add sugars and 7 is coat with sugar
    my Q. is, in step 4 is it brown sugar and caster sugar OR brown,caster AND granulated sugar


Leave a Reply

