A relaxing October day…

14Oct07

collingwood-farm-entrance.JPG

After last month’s nasty incident (see here), yesterday I finally managed to visit the Collingwood Farmers’ Market with my great friend Bree. The market is held at the Collingwood Children’s Farm and it’s a good place for young children to interact with the herd of animals that call the farm home. The children are able to feed the animals, milk the cows and search for eggs in the chicken cage.

cows.JPGchook1.JPG

The market is rather small, but there is plenty of produce to buy. Fruit, vegetables, cheese, eggs, bread, meat, poultry and more – just don’t forget to bring your own bags/baskets to carry it all home.

farm.JPG

Shown below are a few of the goodies that are available at the market:

Free-range eggs and the menu for the ‘Farmer’s Breakfast’.

free-range-eggs.JPGfarmers-breakfast.JPG

Homemade biscuits made by Michel’s Fine Biscuit Co. Castlemaine were absolutely delish! I was very close to buying a packet of pistachio white chocolate biscuits, but I knew that if I did, we would have eaten the whole packet before we got back to the car! The company also produce a gluten free and savoury range of goodies.

michels-biscuits.JPGmichels-biscuits-gluten-free.JPG

Dawson’s Honey had four types of honey on offer and they were more than happy to let us sample them all. I purchased a 500g tub of Yellowbox honey at the bargain price of $4.50 (1kg tubs were $8.50 each).

honey.JPG

Parsley and Swiss brown mushrooms from CERES. CERES host their own organic market every Saturday and Wednesday in Brunswick East.

parsley.JPGmushrooms.JPG

Mountain River Berries’ jams to taste (and thank you to my lovely hand model, Bree). My favourite was plum and raspberry.

jam-line.JPG

I was tempted to purchase a few herb seedlings to grow my own herbs at home, but I don’t have a big pot as yet, so I will have to buy these next time. The Tiny Tim tomato variety was so cute!

seedlings.JPGtiny-tim.JPG

After a busy morning browsing the stalls at the market, we went to Brunswick Street, Fitzroy in search of a good coffee and picked up a loaf of bread from the always busy Babka. I know I could have purchased a loaf at the market, but the yeasty parcels of goodness from Babka are simply magnificent. Babka produce several types of bread, from white sourdough to multigrain, rye and more. I went for the classic casalinga – with a crisp and chewy crust and beautiful crumb on the inside, these loaves are fantastic! The wait for breakfast can become very long on the weekend and the queue often snakes its way out the door! Their shoo-fly buns are a must too. Full of currants and oranges, they are perfect with a cup of Earl Grey tea. :) If you’re after a good feed and need to pick up a few loaves of bread, Babka is one of Melbourne’s best bakeries/cafes.

casalinga.JPG

How to get there…

Collingwood Farmers’ Market

  • Located at the end of St Heliers Road, Abbotsford.
  • The market is held between 8am and 1pm every second Saturday.
  • It is located only 5km from the CBD and there is plenty of off street parking available. To get there by train, you will need to catch either the Epping or Hurstbridge line trains and depart at Victoria Park. It is a short 10 minute walk from the train station (the train timetable can be found here).

Babka

  • 358 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy.
  • The bakery/cafe is open from 7am to 4pm, Tuesday to Sunday.
  • It is located just over 2km from the CBD and the easiest way to get to Babka from the city is by public transport. You will need to take the 112 tram and get off at the Johnston Street intersection and walk (the tram timetable can be found here). If you’re taking your car, let me warn you that parking can be difficult to find on weekends!

One last thing… My lovely friend Bree kindly offered to pose for me and yes boys, she is single. If you would like her number, just send me a quick email and I’ll see what I can do! ;) Haha!

farm-entrance.JPG

One Response to “A relaxing October day…”

  1. 1 Bree

    What! No comments…come on… I have hand-modelling experience! Ok fine, I would have given out my fake number anyway…stop laughing Linda!


Leave a Reply

