Easy Orange Cake

27Oct07

For the first time ever, I dropped a whole cake.

orange-cake4.jpg

I’m actually rather accident prone and I tend to break things, spill drinks, burn food and fall over my own two feet. Today was no exception.

I made a beautiful orange cake this afternoon and followed the recipe, step by step without skipping a beat. I removed the cake from the oven and allowed it to cool on a wire rack. I then had to invert the cake tin onto the cooling rack to remove the cake. I’ve done this hundreds of times before and each time has worked like a charm (the key is to get a really long tea-towel so you can wrap it firmly around the base of the tin whilst holding the rack at the same time – then invert!).

But I digress… I flipped the still-warm cake onto the rack and expertly placed it onto the kitchen bench. No dramas yet. The tea-towel was still under the rack and as I stupidly pulled it, the cake and rack tumbled onto the kitchen floor :( I dropped it. That’s right. I dropped the cake.

dropped-cake.jpg

Not sure why, but I just stood and stared at the cake and didn’t move (damn you reflexes!) My 10 year old sister Rosie came rushing into the kitchen to see what had happened (but more likely to see if our mother would yell at me) and asked me innocently ‘Why is there a big cake on the floor?’ followed by ‘MUM!! Linda dropped a cake!! Come see!’ (bloody little sisters).

After Rosie helped me out of my cake-dropping daze, I quickly picked it up, did a quick inspection and the damage was minimal. It was only smooshed on one side with a large split on the base. A big chunk also fell off from the bottom, but you couldn’t tell the difference once it was inverted. Phew!

orange-cake.jpg

And another thing, before you germ-phobic people write to me and complain, the kitchen floor was squeaky clean. The cake was fine. Really, it was!

Easy Orange Cake

(adapted from a recipe by Belinda Jeffery in ‘Mix and Bake’)

450g plain flour, sifted

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

3 eggs

400g caster sugar

250g unsalted butter, softened and cut into small chunks

25oml buttermilk

zest of 3 large oranges

juice of 1 orange

Easy Orange Icing

150g icing sugar

4 tablespoons orange juice

zest of 1 small orange

  1. Preheat the oven to 150°C. Grease and flour a large Bundt or fluted ring tin (about 25cm in diameter).
  2. Combine the flour, salt and bicarbonate of soda in a medium bowl and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, combine eggs and sugar until well mixed using a whisk (or alternatively, use a food processor – I don’t because I hate cleaning the damn thing). Add the softened butter and mix until smooth and creamy. Add the buttermilk, juice and zest. Add reserved flour mixture and mix using a spatula until just combined.
  4. Spread the batter into the prepared tin and bake in the oven for approximately one hour or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted in the middle of the cake. Allow to cool on a wire rack.
  5. For the orange icing, combine the icing sugar, juice and zest until you achieve a runny consistency. Place the cake on a wire rack, with a tray underneath to catch any drips. Pour the icing all over the cake and let it run down the sides into the grooves. Let it set.

If you want your cake to look extra fancy (who doesn’t?), you can make your own sticky orange rind to decorate your cake.

 

orange-cake3.jpg

Sticky Orange Rind

1 small orange

40g caster sugar

40ml water

  1. Remove the rind from the orange using a knife or a very sharp vegetable peeler and finely cut into strips.
  2. In a small saucepan, combine the sugar and water and bring to the boil. Bring the syrup to a low simmer and add the orange rind. Simmer for 10 minutes, remove the pan from the heat and allow the strips of orange rind to cool in the syrup.
  3. Once cool, drain off the excess syrup and toss the strips in caster sugar. They are now ready to use as you please!
9 Responses to “Easy Orange Cake”

  1. 1 Lisa

    L, you gave away your secret identity!

  2. When I first started this blog, I was scared almost to put my real name. After a week, I thought ‘Bugger this!’ decided being ‘L’ was just plain stupid. So I changed it. I’ve got nothing to hide!

    No secret identity! :)

    Linda (not ‘L’)

  3. It looks delicious – very fine crumb for a cake baked in a Bundt pan. I might have to try this cake.

    As for germs? Here in the States we have the 5 Second Rule: anything dropped but picked up again within 5 seconds is germ-free. :)

    Happy baking!

  4. We have the 5 Second Rule here in Australia too!

    But really, who’s counting? :)

  5. Yeouch! As a fellow clusmy kitchen navigator, I can completely sympathize! Am glad that the damage was minimal, and the finished product looks quite divine :)

  6. Thanks Ellie! Nice to know that I’m not the only clumsy one in the kitchen! :)

  7. Can’t say that this has happened to me before…;-) I’d never chuck such a wonderful cake no matter what!

  8. 8 bryan

    Five second rule? At my house we use the FOUR DAY RULE. Recipe sounds delicious. I can’t wait to try it.

  9. Just made this cake tonight…took it out of the oven about 20 minutes ago and I think I may have a hard time refraining from not cutting into it…it smells like I just baked a Dreamsicle!


Leave a Reply

