Simple Apple Tart

27Nov07

tart.jpg

Yes, I’ve been slack. I haven’t updated this blog in over three weeks due to sickness (you can add a smidgen of laziness and a slight lack of inspiration to that excuse). It began with a throat infection and then I was hit with a rather nasty case of bronchitis which I’m still recovering from – I have that ‘pack-a-day’ cough which I must say is highly unattractive. But I digress, I’m much better now and ready to get down and dirty in the kitchen! Aprons on, here we go…

 

two-apples.jpg

 

 

I made an apple tart yesterday because I simply felt like making something quick and easy. The ‘recipe’ below is a rough list of what I used and I say ‘rough list’ as I didn’t follow a recipe. Just kind of made it up and added a bit of this and a bit of that as I went along (yes, yes I am amazing). I had everything I needed in the pantry and a roll of puff pastry in the freezer (always a last-minute lifesaver) and it only took thirty minutes from start to finish (including baking time). It’s simple, fast and delicious.

 

 

lamination.jpg

Give it a go and adapt it to suit your tastes or what you have in the fridge/pantry. You may choose to replace the apples with pears, stone fruit or even berries! Instead of almonds, you could use ground hazelnuts or pecans. You could make a large square tart, or individual round ones. It can be anything you want. Baking/cooking is always up for interpretation!

simple-apple-tart.jpg

Simple Apple Tart

180g sheet of puff pastry, defrosted (I cut a 375g roll of Câreme puff pastry in half – you could use a sheet of regular puff pastry)

2 small green apples, peeled, cored, thinly sliced (you may have some apple slices left over)

1 egg yolk

honey, to drizzle

toasted slivered almonds, to sprinkle

Frangipane

5 tablespoons (or so) ground almonds

1 big tablespoon of unsalted butter, softened

2 tablespoons caster sugar

splash of vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C. Line a baking sheet with baking paper.
  2. For the frangipane, combine all ingredients until well combined. Set aside.
  3. Place the rectangle of pastry onto the baking sheet and using a very sharp knife, score a smaller rectangle one centimetre from the border. Prick all over the inside rectangle of the pastry with a fork (this helps the pastry to expand and stops it buckling in the middle). Spread the frangipane mix over the base of the pastry – I find it best to use wet fingers as a knife doesn’t do the job properly. Arrange the apple slices over the frangipane and make sure you overlap them tightly (if you don’t, the frangipane mix may bubble up). Brush the pastry edges with the egg yolk.
  4. Bake in the oven for approximately 10 minutes or until the pastry is a pale golden brown and the tips of the apple slices begin to brown. Remove from the oven and liberally drizzle the tart with honey. Return the tart to the oven and bake for a further 10 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown. Sprinkle the toasted almonds on top.

With a big scoop of vanilla ice-cream, this tart should serve four for dessert – or two very greedy people (such as Z and myself) :)

2 Responses to “Simple Apple Tart”

  1. I have to admit that I’m not a big fan of frangipane, but this tart *does* look absolutely delightful, and a great way to farewell the apple season as we move into berry & stone fruit territory :)

  2. 2 George

    That tart does look lovely. I love apple tart.


Leave a Reply

