Double Dulce de Leche Biscuits

02Dec07

ddl-cookies.jpg

Dulce de leche‘, translated from Spanish, literally means ‘sweet of milk’. It is rich, moreish and is literally boiled condensed milk. It can be bought ready-made, but it is ridiculously easy to make: just throw a can or two of condensed milk into a large saucepan of water, bring it to the boil and simmer for a few hours, always making sure the water is topped up and that the cans are fully immersed in water. The time you leave to simmer depends on the consistency you want really. The longer you boil it for, the more viscous it becomes. I find three hours is just about right :)

cookies.jpg

I thought about making alfajores, a Latin American specialty consisting of two crisp biscuits sandwiched together with dulce de leche, but decided against it as I was in the mood for something extra caramelly (is ‘caramelly’ even a word?!). I pretty much fiddled around for a few days and came up with a recipe using dulce de leche in the biscuit base itself. The biscuits turn out a gorgeous golden colour, crisp on the outside and rather soft in the middle, chewy almost. Sandwiched with a dollop of even more dulce de leche and you can’t get much better than that!

dulce-de-leche-cookies2.jpg

If making your own dulce de leche, boiling up two cans of condensed milk will produce more than you need for the recipe below (one can is not enough). Leftover caramel can be heated up with a touch of cream to create a lovely, runny sauce which is perfect poured over vanilla ice cream. But to be honest, I’m such a caramel fan, I’d happily eat it as it is with a spoon, as you would with a jar of Nutella or peanut butter :) (maybe I could use the leftover dulce de leche and try to make my own Caramello Koalas, haha!)

Double Dulce de Leche Biscuits

200g unsalted butter, softened

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup caster sugar

1.5 cups dulce de leche

2 eggs

2.5 cups plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Prepare a baking tray with non-stick baking paper and set aside.
  2. Beat the butter, sugars and three quarters of a cup of the dulce de leche until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs, one at a time, ensuring they are well mixed after each addition.
  4. Add the sifted flour, baking powder and salt and combine until just combined.
  5. Drop a big teaspoonful of batter for each biscuit onto the prepared tray leaving 5 centimetres of space in between them. The mixture is a bit gooey and I found it easier using a piping bag.
  6. Bake for approximately 8 – 10 minutes or until a deep golden brown (baking time will ultimately vary depending on the size of your biscuit). Remove from tray and allow to cool on a wire rack.
  7. Once cool, spread half of the biscuits with the extra dulce de leche and partner them with a naked biscuit. That’s it! :)

P.S. This recipe makes lots!

 

11 Responses to “Double Dulce de Leche Biscuits”

  1. The more dulce de leche the better, they look so delicious! I bookmarked the recipe.

    P.S. Seems we have quite a bit in common besides our name :) baking and a background in food (I have a Bachelor in Food and Dietetics).

  2. I really should try making my own dulce de leche, but I think I’d want it almost almost at the consistency of peanut butter! How long do you think I’d need to boil it for that?

    The cookies sound good, but the ‘lots’ bit has my arteries worrying ;)

  3. Linda – nice to meet another baking nutritionist/dietician named Linda. I’ll never forget your name now :)

    Ellie – I reckon 2 hours should do it.

    I think my arteries are nicely clogged up now too. I kept munching them as I assembled the biscuits: “one for the plate, one for me, one for the plate…” :)

    (And I’ve just had an idea: dulce de leche and peanut butter sandwiches. Mmm mmm!)

  4. 4 peas, loaves and understanding

    I read this a while ago and it made me decide to try to make my own dulce de leche (I’d never tried it, except as an ice cream flavor).

    I did and it was so good! Not to mention simple to make! I boiled the can for two hours and peanut butter describes the consistency pretty well, I’d say.

    I haven’t tried the cookies yet, but I’d love to. I agree with Linda, the more dulce de leche the better! :)

  5. These cookies are sweet

    CHECK THIS OUT!!!!!!

  6. 6 Janine

    I’m doing a project for spanish class on Uruguay and am about to make these to bring in to class!
    I hope they’re good! It’s nice to have an easy recipie I can use, thanks for posting this :)

  7. 7 sara

    im thinking about making dulce de leche for my spanish class too.. we are doing our project on argentina… my teacher told my to boil the can for 5 to 6 hours.. what will that make it ? is that to long?

  8. Hi Sara, isn’t Spanish fun? :)

    If you boil the can for around 2 hours, you should be fine.

    Happy baking!

  9. 9 Geanine

    If you have a pressure cooker only 20 minutes are enough to transform condensed milk into dulce de leche… simple and fast like that…

  10. i like it (: jenniboo :-*
    i love it ;) mmmm i want to eat al up…:p frm lucyboo

  11. Thanks – Great recipe version!


Leave a Reply

