Peach Raspberry Almond Yoghurt Cake

16Dec07

peach-cake.jpg

As you know, I like to bake, and yes, I know sweets and cakes aren’t necessarily the healthiest of food options. I don’t bake everyday and when I do, it’s not like I’m eating it all on my own! I certainly believe that sugar and fats are fine in moderation and I know I don’t indulge too often, but each time I stuff my face with biscuits or cake, I always have this little twinge of guilt in the pit of my stomach.

peach-cake3.jpg

This cake has lots of butter, lots of sugar, but it has two types of fruit, nuts and yoghurt, so you can eat it without feeling too guilty! :)

Peach Raspberry Almond Yoghurt Cake

150g unsalted butter, softened

100g caster sugar

100g brown sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 eggs

200g natural yoghurt

100g self raising flour, sifted

150g almond meal

3 small yellow peaches, peeled, diced

150g raspberries

50g flaked almonds

icing sugar, to dust

peach-cake1.jpg

  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C. Grease and line with non-stick baking paper a 23 centimetre springform tin.
  2. Beat butter, sugar and vanilla extract until very light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well between additions. Add the yoghurt and mix until just combined. Add the flour and almond meal and lightly mix.
  3. Gently fold in the fruit and pour the batter into the prepared tin. Sprinkle with the flaked almonds.
  4. Bake for around 30 minutes, cover with foil and bake for a further 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  5. Allow the cake to cool in the tin and turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  6. Dust with icing sugar and serve up huge pieces to the ones that you love :)
5 Responses to “Peach Raspberry Almond Yoghurt Cake”

  1. Your cake looks yummy! In the case of butter in a cake my motto is usually: more is more ;)

  2. 2 Natta

    It looks so good! Personally I think it’s too good to feel guilty while stuffing your tummy with it. Look at the amount of fruits and nuts!!! Mmm…

  3. 3 Kim-E

    I’m a late comer to your site but absolutely love it. Keep it up!

  4. Thanks Natta and Kim :)

  5. 5 Risia

    Hi Hi

    Your cake is certainly yummy. Maybe I should try it.

    Can I substitute the fresh peach with can peach or frozen peach? Can I replace the raspberry with frozen raspberry?

    Cheerio
    Risia


Leave a Reply

