Gianduja Gelato with Rippled Chocolate Sauce

06Jan08

gelato2.jpg

I’ve already discussed my cookbook addiction before, but I’ll tell you how it all started and why I am a cookbook fiend. I’ve always had an obsession with food as a kid, always wanting to learn about different cuisines and foods from around the world. I was an only child for 11 years and was often alone with no-one to play with, so I turned to books for company and became an extremely avid reader. Coupled with my interest in food, I would borrow massive piles of cookbooks from my local library each week and pore over them as soon as I brought them home. My parents thought I was a strange kid, but relieved I wasn’t outside eating bugs or something…

hazelnuts1.jpg

At last count, I currently have 75 foodie books on my shelf! I know 75 doesn’t sound like many, but for the average 21-year old, that is just a tad more than a few. I also have a huge collection of Donna Hay, delicious and Gourmet Traveller magazines. I love perusing them, trying recipes, admiring the photography and simply reading and learning about food (I sound like such a geek) :)

My most recent purchase has been David Lebovitz‘s ‘The Perfect Scoop’. This book is chock-a-block with recipes and tips for making all sorts of ice-creams, gelati and sorbets. I attempted my first recipe today using a recent Christmas gift from Z: an ice-cream maker attachment for my Kenwood mixer! I made Lebovitz’s recipe for gianduja gelato and decided to ripple a simple chocolate sauce throughout. Keiko from one of my favourite blogs, Nordljus, also made this gelato a few months ago and it turned out great!

Gianduja is a blend of chocolate and hazelnuts formed into a paste and the combination of the two in this gelato is perfect. I didn’t think I would obtain such a pronounced hazelnut flavour, but I did and am very pleased indeed! I’ve made quite a few ice-cream recipes and this gelato is one of the best. It is hazelnutty, sweet and and has just the right amount of chocolate. Try it for yourself and you’ll see why I ate half a litre on my own! :)

no-more-gelato.jpg

Gianduja Gelato

(recipe by David Lebovitz in ‘The Perfect Scoop’)

1.5 cups (185g) hazelnuts

1 cup (250ml) milk

2 cups (500ml) cream

¾ cup (150g) caster sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

5 egg yolks

115g milk chocolate, chopped

splash of vanilla extract

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. On a baking tray, spread the hazelnuts in one layer and bake the nuts for around 10 minutes. The nuts are ready when they are light golden brown throughout.
  2. Finely chop the nuts in a processor or blender and set aside.
  3. In a small saucepan, heat the milk, one cup (250ml) of the cream, sugar and salt until warm. Add the hazelnuts, cover and allow to steep for at least one hour (at this point, it’s best to prepare the chocolate ripple sauce below).
  4. Place the chopped chocolate in a medium saucepan. Heat the remaining cream in another small saucepan until it just comes to the boil. Pour the heated cream over the chocolate and whisk until the chocolate has melted and the mixture and shiny and smooth.
  5. Strain the hazelnut infused milk mixture into another medium saucepan (I used a sieve and muslin and re-used the saucepan used to heat the cream, saves washing!). Be sure to squeeze out as much liquid as you can. Discard the nuts.
  6. In yet another freaking medium saucepan, whisk the egg yolks. Heat the hazelnut infused milk until warm and add to the egg yolks. Place this mixture over medium heat and constantly stir until the mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon (this should take no longer than 5 minutes).
  7. Once thickened, add this custard and vanilla to the chocolate mixture and allow to cool in an ice bath (I fill my sink up with cold water and add ice).
  8. Chill the mixture in the fridge, then churn in your ice-cream maker for 20 minutes or until thick. Makes approximately one litre.

Chocolate Ripple Sauce

75g dark chocolate

1 tablespoon golden syrup

15g unsalted butter

60ml (¼ cup) cream

  1. In a small saucepan, melt the chocolate, golden syrup and butter. Add the cream and whisk until smooth. Set aside and allow to cool.

Rippling

When the ice-cream has finished churning and is lovely and thick, transfer it into a shallow plastic container. Drop big spoonfuls of the chocolate sauce onto the gelato and use a blunt knife to ripple throughout. Cover and place in the freezer until firm.

2 Responses to “Gianduja Gelato with Rippled Chocolate Sauce”

  1. Did it taste like Nutella? Sounds so good…

  2. Hi Julia!

    It tastes a little but like Nutella, but Nutella is more chocolately than hazelnutty. This ice-cream is more hazelnutty than chocolately. Try it and see :)


Leave a Reply

