Blueberry Crumb Cake

13Jan08

blueberry-crumble-cake1.jpg

I was invited to a last minute morning tea with a few old work friends today, hosted by my lovely friend Bree (I call her the assistant editor of this blog as she picks up all of my little mistakes and she’s also my ‘props guru’, as I borrow plates and cups from her to use in my photos. She’s a great stylist and has very funky taste). :)

tea-party.jpg

It was really nice to catch up with my friends as we drank three types of tea (vanilla, peppermint and honey-sweetened chai if you must know), disussed the latest gossip and stuffed our faces with sweets. For only the four of us, it was quite a spread! There were mini scones with strawberry jam and thick cream, white chocolate cranberry blondies, a fresh fruit platter and my contribution: a blueberry crumb cake. It was a real girly event as there were doilies, mismatched cups and saucers, different shaped teapots and a floral tablecloth :)

blueberries1.jpg

I had a great time and I think it should be a regular occurrence from now on!

Blueberry Crumb Cake

(adapted from recipes by Ina Garten in ‘Barefoot Contessa at Home’ and Martha Stewart’s website)

Crumble

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

½ cup brown sugar

½ teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups plain flour

175g cold unsalted butter, diced

crumble2.jpg

Cake

150g unsalted butter, softened

¾ cup caster sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs

zest of one lemon

170ml buttermilk

1 ¼ cups plain flour, sifted

1 teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

300g blueberries

icing sugar, to dust (optional)

  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C. Grease and line an 8-inch (20 centimetre) square cake tin. Set aside.
  2. For the crumble, in a medium bowl, combine all ingredients using your fingers. Rub the butter into the flour and sugar until the mixture is crumbly. Place the crumble mix aside in the fridge.
  3. Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, ensuring they are well mixed within each addition. Add the lemon zest.
  4. Add the buttermilk and gently fold through the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Fold through the blueberries.
  5. Pour this batter into your prepared tin. Sprinkle the crumble mixture over the top, ensuring the batter is covered entirely.
  6. Bake for approximately 50 minutes or until the crumble is golden brown and a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool in the tin for 10 minutes before inverting onto a cooling rack.
  7. Dust with icing sugar if desired.
9 Responses to “Blueberry Crumb Cake”

  1. Tea parties are fantastic, yours looks utterly adorable! Nice work with the cake, and I’m glad to see that the dSLR is doing some very nice work in your hands :D

  2. I love the tea cup in the first picture. Looks like you had a wonderful tea party.

  3. Ellie – I love tea parties, they make me feel rather girly and dainty.

    I’m having great fun with the dSLR. I’m slowly getting used to the camera and I love playing around with it! :)

    Linda – Everything used in the first and third photos belong to my lovely friend Bree. I had a great time. I ate a bit too much though! :)

  4. Great table setting. Not too stuffy looking.

  5. 5 Bree

    Linny you are as sweet as coconut ice! xxx

  6. Cheers Rob! :)

    Breezy, you’re a sweetie too! Love you lots! :)

  7. Nothing can keep me away from blueberries:) I loved the crumble cake, and tell Bree that she’s a fabulous stylist :)

  8. Thank you mansi, I’ll pass the message on :)

  9. wow…your blueberry crumb cake is one of the best i’ve ever seen…my mouth’s watering…the table setting it’s really nice, bohemian like of naive, very “take it easy” :)
    see you


Leave a Reply

