Mango Tart

20Jan08

tart1.jpg

Just for your information, getting flour in the eye hurts like fucking hell.

You’re probably asking “who the hell gets flour in their eyes?” Well I did today and it was not a good look!

Let me set the scene… I am standing at my kitchen bench, ready to make the sweet shortcrust dough using my handy dandy food processor. I tip in the sifted dry ingredients, pop the lid on and press the ‘pulse’ button two times. I then open the lid and add the cold, cubed butter and carefully replace the lid. I give it another whizz and bam! The ingredients all crash into each other and the flour immediately shoots up through the open spout into my right eye and all over my face. I usually cover the opening with my hand as I pulse, but was distracted by the Australian Open tennis on the TV (it’s such a great season this year!).

After I got flour in my eye, I started to freak out and ran to the bathroom in order to wash it out (a quick glimspe into the mirror and I looked like a very disturbed geisha). Anyway, as you know, combining flour with water makes a gunky paste and after adding water to my face, my eye looked like it had some sort of conjunctivitis in maximum overdrive. Although rinsing my eye out irritated my eye even more, I persisted and kept flushing it out with water and eventually the gunk disappeared. My eye was bloodshot red for a few hours and I particularly enjoyed scaring my sister Rosie with it (“Look Rosie!! My eye is all red because it’s going to pop out soon and roll out onto the floor near your feet!!).

Everything ran smoothly after the eye saga and I managed to make a beautiful mango tart :)

mangotart.jpg

Mango Tart

This recipe is a basic sweet shortcrust pastry shell (or pâte sablée if you want to get all French and fancy) filled with pastry cream topped with fresh fruit. You can use whatever fruit you like, but I’ve chosen to use mangoes as their season is ending soon :)

Sweet shortcrust pastry

1 ½ cups plain flour

½ cup icing sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

125g cold unsalted butter, cubed

1 large egg yolk

  1. In a food processor, whizz the flour, sugar and salt for a few seconds. Add the butter and whizz until it becomes pebbly, with large bits and small bits. Add the egg yolk and combine until the dough clumps together and the sound coming from the food processor distinctly changes.
  2. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and lightly knead for a minute. Wrap the dough up and place in the fridge to rest for 30 minutes.
  3. Roll the dough out between two sheets of non-stick paper and line a 22cm (9 inch) fluted flan tin. Place in fridge for 30 minutes to chill and rest. Remove the lined tin from the fridge and prick the base with a fork (this allows the expansion and contraction of the pastry).
  4. Blind baking: fit a piece of non-stick baking paper tightly against the crust and fill with weights (rice, beans or actual weights – whatever you’ve got). Place the tin on a baking tray and bake in in a preheated oven for approximately 15 minutes or until the exposed edges are a very light brown. Remove the baking paper and weights. Bake for a further 8-10 minutes or until the base is golden brown (if the edges seem to brown very quickly, but the base is not ready as yet, cover the sides with foil and continue to bake until the base is a lovely brown). Allow to cool on wire rack.

Vanilla pastry cream

(recipe in Dorie Greenspan’s ‘Baking From My Home to Yours’)

2 cups (500ml) full-cream milk

½ cup caster sugar

⅓ cup cornflour

6 large egg yolks

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

50g cold unsalted butter, cubed

  1. Bring the milk to the boil. Remove from heat and set aside.
  2. In a medium saucepan, whisk together the eggs, sugar and cornflour until smooth. Pour a little bit of the hot milk into the egg mixture and whisk well. Pour the remaining milk into the egg mixture and whisk like mad (you don’t want eggy lumps).
  3. Place the saucepan onto the heat and whilst whisking constantly, bring the mix to the boil. Reduce the heat down to medium and cook for 2 minutes or so or until the custard becomes very thick. Remove from the heat.
  4. Whisk in the vanilla extract. Whisk in the butter until it’s smooth and silky.
  5. To quickly cool the pastry cream, fill your kitchen sink halfway with cold water and throw in a large handful of ice cubes. Scrape the pastry cream into a large plastic tub and plunge the tub into the sink. Whisk the pastry cream every now and then until it is thoroughly chilled.

mango-tart4.jpg

Assembly

2 large, ripe mangoes

  1. Cut the cheeks off both mangoes. Using a large spoon, carefully scoop out the flesh. Cut the mango cheeks into thin slices.
  2. Fill the cold pastry case with the pastry cream, ensuring the filling is smooth.
  3. Artfully arrange the mango slices over the pastry cream (I attempted concentric circles, but it didn’t happen. Bugger.)
  4. The tart can be chilled in the fridge for a few hours before serving. It is best eaten on the day it is made as the pastry can become soggy from the pastry cream.

P.S. Tuesday 22 January – I had a small piece of the tart sitting in my fridge since Sunday which I gave to Z to eat today. Just to let you know, the pastry base was still firm and not soggy at all. Yay!

17 Responses to “Mango Tart”

  1. Girl, I said it before and I’ll say it again – these photos and the tart are gorgeous! I’m thinking that a pastry-cream filled tart will be just the thing to make for my sister, who’s been begging me to make fruit tartelettes!

  2. That looks awesome!! No one could stay away from that!! :D

  3. Thanks Ellie, I’m very proud of these photos :) Your sister is very lucky you bake for her!

    Cheers mansi! I ate almost a third of it on my own :)

  4. Sensational photos and the recipe sounds amazing. I can almost taste it!

  5. nice shots & it looks yummy (ouch! for the flour in the eyes.) are you guys getting good mangoes in australia at the moment?

  6. Thanks! Mango season is nearly over here in Australia :(

  7. that’s one gorgeous tart
    all your pictures are sooo nice

    xxx

  8. Thanks Fanny! :)

  9. This is a really gorgeous looking tart. Mangoes have just starting coming in season now , can’t wait to give this one a try.

  10. Beautiful tart with great photography = awesome food blog!

  11. Thanks Kate!

    And Hungry Hamster, what a cute name. Thanks!

  12. 12 ashsri

    its so cute…………. the crust looks dark

  13. 13 cami

    first time browsing your site, and i must say everything’s looks sooo yommy, your pictures are amaziing, i just did the tart and mmh mhh yummy!
    soooo sooo good <3
    cheers!

  14. 14 Adelina

    So sorry about the accident! But I have to say, that is Funny!!! I truly haven’t encountered that, Yet!!!
    Aside from that, your tart looks beautiful! I Love the crust!!!

    Thanks for posting and for sharing!

  15. 15 jayn collins

    ? cornflower. What is the exact measurement. This wont work.
    Thanks.
    J

  16. I really love your recipes. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

