Caramel Honey Pecan Slice

03Feb08

pecan6-3.jpg

At the end of this week, I will be unemployed. For most people it is rather depressing to have no job. But not for me… I’m elated! :)

For the last seven months I’ve been working as an adminstrative assistant and it has literally bored me to tears. Sitting on my arse all day long, answering phone call after stupid phone call, the constant tippity-tappity on the keyboard and doing the same mundane tasks every single day has made me go crazy/depressive/unhappy. The work is boring, so unchallenging and there is no support or positive acknowledgment in my workplace. I’ve also managed to stack on the kilograms from being inactive for the majority of the day (5kg to be exact) and my skin has become so dehydrated from the recycled air in the building. Urgh…

So, two weeks ago I handed in my resignation and by this Thursday, I will be unemployed. I know I should have found another job to move onto first, but to be honest, I’m just too happy to care. :)

Happiness and joy aside, just like any typical 20-something year old, I’m still struggling to find out what my ‘calling’ is and I don’t know which career direction to head into. I have so many different interests but unsure of what to focus on and pursue as a career. It upsets me sometimes, not knowing where I’m going, but then again, I am 21 and have the whole world at my feet. I can and will do anything I want to do. I know I can…

After this Thursday, I’m going to have a bit of a mental break and might do some volunteer work. Wish me luck everyone, hopefully I can find a job/career that I love soon! :)

Caramel Honey Pecan Slice

I made this slice today simply because I wanted something with pecans and too lazy to make pastry for a pecan pie :)

Curled up on the couch with a piece or two of this slice, a big cup of milky tea with the Sunday newspaper and knowing that I’ll be leaving my crappy job soon has made me a happy girl indeed :)

(adapted from recipe by Belinda Jeffrey in delicious. June 2006)

2 cups (300g) plain flour

½ cup (100g) brown sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

180g cold unsalted butter, diced

Topping

100g unsalted butter

1 cup (200g) brown sugar

3 big tablespoons of honey

2 tablespoons of cream

¼ teaspoon salt

250g pecans

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease and line a 21 x 30cm lamington tin with non-stick baking paper.
  2. In a food processor, whizz together the flour, salt and sugar until combined. Add the cold butter and process until the mixture resembles damp sand. Tip the dough into the prepared pan and press firmly using your, ensuring the base is even. Bake the base for approximately 15 minutes or until the base is golden brown.
  3. In the last 5 minutes of baking time, prepare the topping. In a small saucepan, melt the butter. Add the sugar, cream, honey and salt and constantly stir to combine. Bring the mixture to the boil and cook for a further minute. Remove from the heat, add the pecans and vanilla extract.
  4. Pour the topping over the biscuit base, spread evenly over the surface and bake for a further 12 minutes or until the topping is bubbling and a deep golden brown. Allow the slice to cool completely in the tin before you cut into portions.
12 Responses to “Caramel Honey Pecan Slice”

  1. If you find a career for me in your search, let me know!
    In the meantime though, I’d settle for one of those slices!

  2. These look sticky and wonderful. Well-photographed.

    Are you looking into any culinary careers?

  3. Yum! Looks delicious! Pecans are my absolute favorite. Congratulations on leaving a job you hated. I did the same thing a few months ago. I am infinitely happier. Good luck!

  4. Congrats on your last day! Good for you, getting out of a place that seems to just drain the life out of you. I think that if you aren’t passionate about anything in life, you should make the changes needed that make you feel fulfilled. Maybe a career in baking is in the future… with this kind of recipe, I think you might’ve found your niche :)

  5. Lovely blog and beautiful photos!

    Good luck with the career. Lucky you though – no getting up for work next Monday, I could crawl home right now :) I hate Monday!

  6. Woo hoo! Here’s to a new start, hon! The slice looks damn fine, and has given me a powerful pecan craving – good thing I’m going grocery shopping this arvo!

  7. Brilynn – What’s your postal address? I’ll send you a piece :)

    Jessica – I know I will inevitably end up in a career that involves food. I studied Food Science and Nutrition, I’ve worked in hospitality, been a pastry apprentice for a while and my blog is about food. Food is me! I don’t think I’ll work in a kitchen again, but I am considering becoming a home economics/food technology teacher.

    Jennifer – Thank you! Hopefully I can find a job and be as happy as you are :)

    Amanda – Cheers! I agree wholeheartedly. I’ve looked into becoming a pastry chef before, but it wasn’t for me. My future career will involve food most definitely. This is the first step of something new! :)

    Sweetrosie – Thanks! My sister’s name is Rosie, it’s such a ‘sweet’ name ;) I hate Mondays too, but luckily I’ll be able to sleep in next Monday! :)

    Ellie – Woo hoo indeed Ellie dear! I’m so happy about embarking on something fresh and new.

    Buy up big at Coles, don’t forget your FlyBuys, lol!

  8. Ten years ago I did exactly what you are doing, and my next job was the one I still have now, only now I own the company. Good luck! And yum I am making those sweet bars immediately!

  9. You’re my new inspiration Elle! :) Thank you for your well wishes.

  10. Wow these are definitely irresistible girl … n a fantastic way to begin your new quest. I wish you all the luck !! Cheers :D

  11. those bars look absolutely delicious! you have some great pictures up! enjoy your time between jobs! wasting away at a job you hate is definitely not worth it. life is far too short for that.

  12. Kate – Thank you! I need all the luck I can get :)

    Joy – I will definitely enjoy my time off. I’ll be spending a lot of time with my new camera. Cheers! :)


Leave a Reply

