Lemon Slice

10Feb08

lemon-slice-4.jpg

When I started this blog, I discovered the wonderful world of Flickr. It’s basically an online photo sharing community with millions of great photos. I love posting my own photos and being inspired by the brilliant photography and creativity of others.

One recurring theme I’ve come across on Flickr are people sharing thirteen random points about themselves, so I decided I’d share my own ’13 Things About Me’ with you here. :)

13 Things About Me

1. I was an only child until the age of 11. My parents tried hard for many years for another child, but it was really difficult. When my sister Rosie was born, I really resented her because I was so used to being spoilt and having all the focus on me. Being an older sister has taught me so much about myself and I am grateful for it.

2. I am of Vietnamese heritage and I can understand and speak the language, but rather poorly. It’s a bit embarrassing really, considering I went to Vietnamese school for 6 years as a kid and it’s the primary language we speak at home. I can hold a normal conversation, but if you want to me to talk about politics or climate change in Vietnamese, forget about it! When the time comes, I don’t think I’ll be passing the language onto my children which is sad.

3. I appear very confident and self assured in person, but deep down, I have my own insecurity issues. I constantly stress about my appearance, the way my body looks and worry about what other people think of me. I’ve always had self-esteem issues and I think I’ll have them forever.

4. I have a few nicknames: Indy, Linny, Lin and Linds. I love them all with Indy being my favourite.

5. Ice-cream is my weakness. I can eat it at any time of the day and have been known to eat 1-litre tubs in one sitting. Sorbet, gelati, semifreddo, parfait, whatever you want to call it. Bring it on!

6. I’m in love. I have a boyfriend, Z, and we’ve been together on/off for nearly five years. It hasn’t always been easy and at times it’s been harder than anything, but he is my best friend in the entire universe, my partner in crime and he is literally an extension of myself. I love him more than the world and I think he is the one.

7. I love to sing, but only when I’m by myself. I enjoy belting out a good song or two and dancing around in my undies in my bedroom when no-one is watching. I can carry a tune and I know I can kick ass in karaoke, but am too shy to show it. I am also very fond of singing in the car!

8 . I love my friends and spending time with them. Apart from Z, I have three different best friends: Bree, Paula and Eloise. Each girl is unique in her own right and each girl makes me feel at home. I can tell them my deepest secrets and I would do anything for them. Some people think that you can only have one best friend, but that’s a load of crap. More friends equals more love, more hugs and more laughs!

9. There’s nothing I love better than being curled up on the couch with a good book or the weekend newspaper and a big cup of tea. It’s my favourite way to unwind and relax.

10. I find it strange that a lot of my food dislikes are because of the texture, not the flavour of the food itself. Mushrooms, celery and olives are the three that I hate the most. Urgh…

11. I have terrible eyesight and received my first pair of glasses when I was 10. I had difficulty reading the blackboard and my grade 4 teacher caught me constantly squinting and suggested to my mother that I should have my eyes tested. The first time I visited the optometrist, I sneaked into the testing room and tried to memorise the letters and numbers so that I wouldn’t have to get glasses and look like a dork. Despite my best efforts, I still failed that eye test and have had to wear corrective lenses ever since. As I grew older, my eyesight became much worse and I now wear contacts 24/7. I cannot see anything without them and I carry a spare pair of contacts around everywhere I go. Just in case.

12. I know I’m a smart girl, but I don’t know where I’m headed, career-wise. I’m capable of anything and I know one day I’ll be successful and enjoy what I do, but not knowing what that is right now frustrates the hell out of me.

13. I really didn’t think I’d write this much! :)

lemons.jpg

To make up for boring you silly with my ’13 Things’, I’ll share a recipe for the lemon slice I made today.It’s a really simple slice recipe which has a wonderfully tangy and oozy lemon topping on a crunchy shortbread base. Enjoy! :)

lemon-slice-1.jpg

Lemon Slice

(adapted from a recipe found at Smitten Kitchen)

Base

225g unsalted butter, softened

½ cup caster sugar

2 cups plain flour

¼ teaspoon salt

Lemon Topping

6 large eggs

2 ¼ cups caster sugar

zest from 6 small lemons

1 cup lemon juice

1 cup plain flour

icing sugar, to dust

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease and line with non-stick baking paper a 30 x 20cm tin. Allow the baking paper to overhang the sides of the tin for easy removal (you don’t want boiling hot lemon filling all over your hands when you remove it from the tin).
  2. For the base, cream together the butter and the sugar until light. Add the flour and salt and mix until until well combined. Tip the dough into your prepared baking tin and press it evenly into the tin. Place it in the freezer for 10 minutes to chill.
  3. Bake the base for around 15 minutes or until golden brown. Allow to cool on a wire rack and get ready to make the topping. Reduce the oven temperature to 160°C.
  4. Combine the eggs and sugar into a large bowl and mix well using a whisk. Add the zest and lemon juice. Add the flour bit by bit, ensuring that there are no lumps. Pour the filling on top of the base and bake for around 25 – 30 minutes or until it is light brown and the filling is just set. Unfortunately I was distracted today and overcooked it. #$&@!!!
  5. Allow to cool to room temperature. Cut into bars and liberally dust with icing sugar.
19 Responses to “Lemon Slice”

  1. 1 sushtopia

    Wow, it’s kind of strange how I could really relate to so many things in your list..! You sound like the sweetest person :)

    Your blog is a pleasure to read, please keep the great recipes coming!

    Susi,
    from Toronto, Canada

  2. 2 Bree

    Now everyone say ‘Hi Linny’!
    I have a few more points to add, if I may….
    – Stubborn
    – Hilariously funny…major SMARTARSE…but stomach stitches funny!
    – Caring/dependable
    – Loud, so so loud when comfortable
    – Creative & Inspiring (grrr so talented!!!!!!)
    – Passionate and loves a good…um swear word…haha, sorry but it’s true!
    – Hates traffic and bad drivers
    – Addicted to Friends (TV series)
    – Always up for a coffee date
    – Will always choose the 3 flavour gelati cup over the 2 flavour cup
    – Can do the BEST booty dance…such a crack up…ahh I’m laughing from the mental image!

    Love, love, love ;)

  3. Hi Susi, thank you! The recipes will keep coming, don’t worry! Thank you for stopping by :)

    Bree! My favourite one from the Rat! Thank you so much for your comment girl! You know me too well. I do swear like a sailor, I do love Friends (but I think I love Scrubs even more these days!), I am way too loud and I am a smartarse. Ahh, what can I say? It’s just me :) Love, love, love to you too!! xx

  4. I love reading these little 13 points about people. It’s strange how alike you can be with someone whom you’ve never met! I’ve been known to polish off a pint of ice cream myself (mint chip yum) and dislike certain foods that have strange textures (mustard freaks me out and so do pickles.) I have never made lemon bars before, but they remind me of spring time and that makes me very happy. Only two more months of freaking cold weather in California, and then finally spring will be here!

  5. 5 Kate

    I made those lemon bars too. Just last weekend. Delicious, delicious!

  6. I enjoy your blog so much! No matter how strange and quirky you think your 13 things about you are, they are so universal in so many ways. You take lovely photos too!

  7. Great blog and wonderful recipes! Thank for sharing a little bit about you!

  8. Amanda – I love ’13 Things’ too. I just wanted to share my own ’13 Things’ because reading what others have written really inspired me to give it a go. It’s so fun to learn random things about people!

    It is still summer here and it’s usually a nice and comfortable 25 to 30ish degrees (that’s 77 to 86ish degrees F to you people!).

    Kate – Yummy aren’t they? :)

    Joy – Thank you so much. You’re too kind :)

    Tartelette – Thanks! :)

  9. 9 custardcrazy

    Fworrrr! Those slices look delectable! Thanks for sharing those lovely insights about yourself.

    Thought I would mention while I’m visiting today that The Purple Goddess will be hosting the next Melbourne Bloggers Banquet in April, at her holiday house in Dromana which features a wood fired oven & BBQ with wok burner. More details at her blog or you can email me from my blog for the address etc if you prefer. Would love to see you there. Cheers!

    Stickyfingers aka Custard Crazy
    (fingers crossed that the links work)

  10. Lovely-looking lemon slices! I’ve been nursing a couple of lemons with a promise that I’d give them a beautiful makeover, but have yet to decide on exactly what to bake. Your photos are inspiring, and I love your random facts, particularly the one about singing and dancing secretly in the room when no one’s watching! Now that’s something I can relate to. Hehe :P

  11. these look beautiful! I’m gonna try them this saturday for a chinese new year gathering over at my place and i’ll let you know how it goes !

  12. Gorgeous food and photos!

    There are so many things you mentioned above to which I can relate (love for flickr, career disorientation, terrible vision, so on and so forth). Oh well, great minds think alike! :D

  13. Stickyfingers – Thanks for letting me know about the Blogger’s Banquet Round 2! (the links were fine, gotta love HTML) :)

    Ovenhaven – Thank you! You can make all sorts of sweet things with your lemons: lemon curd, lemon tart or even lemonade.

    I’ve been caught once rocking it out to Michael Jackson’s “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” in my room by my dad. The look on his face was priceless! :D

    Vanessa – Thank you and I hope you had a lovely CYN. I surely did! :)

    Commoi – I hope you like to sing and dance in your bedroom too ;)

  14. 14 kate

    hi!!

    i’m new to your blog but not to the food blogging world and have to say i am always happy when i stumble across a new one and this is no exception,your writing is so honest,cheeky and i can literally imagine every bit of passion you obviously put into your love of cooking.

    i just wanted to share that really!! also the thirteen things post was great. its amazing how you can learn so much from so little and relate so much too, thank you for your honesty,and you clearly have mistyped one particular point because no-one can have doubt in themselves, who they are and how they look when they write like you do, look (yes i saw your pretty picture) and are brave enough to quit a job because they don’t enjoy it, to face the next scary step in their world!! so you need to re-write that one me thinks lol!!

    sorry for this novel of a comment, i just wanted to say how i am loving your blog and will now go back to reading all i have missed. can’t wait!!

  15. I just discovered your wonderful blog and i must say that I really enjoy reading your posts! It’s school holidays for me and it’s been a pleasure reading your blog over my afternoon snack. :D

    By the way, 3, 7, 11, 12 relates to me too!! I thought I’m the only only who resents glasses and memorises eye charts !

    • 16 Kristine Lundberg

      Hi Linda,
      Thanks so much for the Lemon Slice recipe! I searched for that particular recipe unsuccessfully back in December. It was for an afternoon tea which followed my daughter’s wedding.
      We had tasted the lemon slice at a previous wedding, – made by a local store here in Adelaide, South Australia. At $22 for about 40 pieces, I just couldn’t afford it for 200 guests, with the costs of the Wedding Reception etc.
      The memory of it lived on though….and now we can relive the moment!

      You have a lot of talents as well as a lot of heart and spirit, Linda. It’s been a pleasure stumbling across your blog. I was actually looking for names of deciduous trees which change colour in autumn, when your “Banana and Date” pudding cropped up as an “autumn” experience. As I have some ripe bananas and was thinking about what to do with them, I ventured through your recipes etc. What a treat! Thanks again.
      Kris :-)

  16. 17 Linda

    Thanks Kristine! So glad to be able to help out in some way :)

    Thank you for your kind words too. They really made my day!


  1. 1 Lemon Tart with Candied Lemons « butter sugar flour
  2. 2 Top 5 Lemon delicious « Maybe Next Week

Leave a Reply

