Spiced Chocolate Mousse with Almond Praline

14Feb08

mousse.jpg

My boyfriend has promised me a nice dinner tonight, so in return, I will be taking care of dessert. I’m feeling so lazy today and don’t really feel like making anything fancy, so I think an easy spiced chocolate mousse would be perfect.

This dessert is a bit like love really… it’s spicy, it’s sweet and you always end up wanting more :)

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Spiced Chocolate Mousse with Almond Praline

You can use any kind of unsalted nut for the praline: macadamias, hazelnuts, cashews. I used flaked almonds as they were in my pantry at the time.

(adapted from a recipe found in Gourmet Traveller, by Matt McConnell, executive chef of Bar Lourinhã in Melbourne)

250g dark chocolate (minimum 60% cocoa solids)

4 eggs, at room temperature and separated

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon chilli powder

¼ teaspoon allspice

300ml thickened cream, lightly whipped

Almond praline

100g flaked almonds, lightly toasted

100g caster sugar

  1. Melt the chocolate and allow to cool slightly. Whisk in the egg yolks and add the spices.
  2. Gently fold the whipped cream into the chocolate mix. Place in the fridge whilst you prepare your egg whites.
  3. Whip the eggs whites until they reach soft peaks and gently fold them into the chocolate cream mixture. Divide the mousse into bowls/cups/whatever and place in the fridge to chill.
  4. Lightly grease a baking tray with oil or non-stick baking paper. Pour the toasted almonds on top and set aside.
  5. Place the sugar and two tablespoons of water into a small, heavy-bottomed saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring until the sugar has dissolved. Increase the heat to high and allow the toffee to boil and colour. Do not stir the toffee, just swirl the pan if need be. Once the toffee has reached a dark golden brown colour, carefully pour over the almonds and mix it around with a metal spoon. Allow to cool and set.
  6. To assemble, roughly chop the praline and sprinkle over the mousse. Serve immediately.

Makes quite a lot, but it should be able to serve 4-6 people. Just depends on how greedy you are with the portions :)

8 Responses to “Spiced Chocolate Mousse with Almond Praline”

  1. 1 rantingpixie

    These sound delicious!!! And where are those adorable ramekins from?

    Good job!

  2. These are so cute! Your bowls are adorable, so round and yet not too big. Plus the handle is to die for. I’ve never made chocolate mousse before, but I like the idea of throwing in some interesting and aromatic spice into the mixture. Nice way to spice things up, literally :) Happy Vday!

  3. The mousse looks delicious! I love the added spice. Have a lovely night with your beau.

  4. Sounds different and delicious. Love the photo.

  5. Rantingpixie and Amanda – I got these ramekins at Camberwell Market, here in Melbourne. I bought a set of 5 (pink, yellow, blue, lime, green) for the bargain price of $8 (around US$7)! I love cheap finds and I often hunt eBay too :)

    Joy – Thanks Joy! I had a great night :)

    Jennifer – I actually hate the photo, but was in such a rush to get ready for my date, I just quickly took a few rushed shots. Glad you like it though :)

  6. Those are some gorgeous lookin’ mousses, the praline really adds a touch of class! Hope you and the mister had a good v-day :)

  7. Mmm I think I need a spoon. Yumm…

  8. *Swoon…..*


Leave a Reply

