Chocolate Buttermilk Cake with Chocolate Ganache

17Feb08

chocolate-buttermilk.jpg

In five hours, yesterday afternoon, I managed to whip up four cakes: hummingbird cake with cream cheese icing, orange poppyseed syrup cake, peach raspberry almond yoghurt cake and a chocolate buttermilk cake with chocolate ganache. I made them for the christening celebration of my friend Chloe’s beautiful daughter Alyssa today.

The party actually finished a few hours ago and all of the cakes were a hit. Not surprisingly, the first one demolished was the chocolate buttermilk cake :)

Try it yourself, share it with your friends and family and you’ll see why it’s such a crowd pleaser.

Chocolate Buttermilk Cake

250g butter

300g caster sugar

3 eggs

275g plain flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

75g Dutch-processed cocoa powder

250ml buttermilk

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease a 25 centimetre ring tin with oil spray.
  2. Cream the butter and the sugar until very light and fluffy. Add the eggs one by one, beating well within additions.
  3. Add the sifted ingredients (cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, flour). Mix in the buttermilk until just combined.
  4. Pour the batter into the prepared tin and bake for approximately 40 minutes or when a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Allow to cool on wire rack.

Chocolate Ganache

250ml thickened cream

200g good quality dark chocolate, chopped

25g unsalted butter

  1. Place all ingredients in a heatproof bowl (metal, glass or ceramic).
  2. Balance the bowl on top of a saucepan which is a third full of simmering water. Make sure the bowl does not touch the water. Stir the ingredients until the chocolate has melted and becomes smooth and shiny.
  3. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.

You can use the ganache while it’s still rather warm and runny and pour it over your cake, or you can leave it to thicken and spread it on your cake.

Alyssa is just so darn cute that I just had to post a photo of her! Just gorgeous :)

alyssa-kae1.jpg

Note: The original photo of the cake I used was terrible, so I have replaced it with another one :)

16 Responses to “Chocolate Buttermilk Cake with Chocolate Ganache”

  1. This sounds so easy!!! What a lovely gesture to bake up a bunch of cakes! I look forward to exploring your blog a bit!

  2. That cake looks amazing and the ganache is so smooth and shiny!

  3. So many cakes!! Such a beautiful baby!! So cool that you baked such a variety. I owe you an email! I’m getting to that… thank you so much for writing!

  4. 4 justopia

    What a beautiful cake! I can’t wait to try it!

  5. Looks *so* good!

    I’ll be back…

  6. Gretchen, Brilynn and Justopia – thank you!

    Joy – Alyssa is simply gorgeous! No rush about the email. You seem like a busy woman :)

    Misslionheart – Come back anytime :)

  7. Linda-

    This cake looked so wonderful I just had to make it – mine is in the oven now and I’ll be posting pics and reviews on my food blog.

    Thank you for sharing! If the cake tastes as good as the batter – mmmmmmmm!!

    Shannon

  8. Shannon – Whoo! Can’t wait to see how it goes :)

  9. Alyssa is SO cute!

    I’ll have to try this buttermilk cake…mmm.

  10. this looks stunning. what a perfect looking cake. Honey u just made it to my blogroll with this number !!! welcome aboard !

  11. Joy – Try playing with her for a few hours. You just want to eat her! :)

    Kate – THANK YOU! Get ready for more :D

  12. That opening photo is breathtakingly delicious! Well done :)

  13. Thank you Lorraine! The first photo I used was a shocker. I’m glad you like this one.

  14. 14 keepingnote

    I love all your cake recipes, recently I’ve been trying to become a better baker and now I’m dying to try the recipes you’ve posted.

  15. 15 Steph R

    The perfect cake for my choco-holic bro on his bday this thur. Thought I’d find something good here – first place I looked! Thanks lovely!

  16. all your creations are gorgeous! full of simplicty and the photo’s are amazing. this cake is definitely a keeper :) thank you!


Leave a Reply

