Wholemeal Banana Pancakes

19Feb08

bananapancakes.jpg

Being unemployed, or a ‘lady of leisure’ as I like to call it, is absolutely great. I can sleep in, spend all day at home in my pajamas if I wanted to and I can take my time in making a tasty breakfast instead of the usual boring tub of yoghurt and piece of fruit or toast.

I woke up at 9.30am today (yes, yes, I know you hate me) and whilst sleepily perusing the fridge this morning, I realised I had half a carton of buttermilk left since making a chocolate buttermilk cake a few days ago. With the buttermilk nearing it’s expiry date, I decided that a stack of banana pancakes for breakfast would be perfect. I had all of the other ingredients ready in the fridge/pantry and it only took me 20 minutes from start to finish.

I absolutely cannot stand morning television (it’s those damn infomercials) so instead I sat in my dad’s garden (it’s his garden, not ‘our garden’ – he’s so possessive of those plants it’s ridiculous. I can’t even water them correctly according to him). I happily ate my pancakes, swimming in a pool of real maple syrup mind you, sitting cross-legged on the grass with the newspaper and a glass of fresh orange juice. It was beautifully sunny and a warm 28°C (82°F) at 10.15 in the morning! It was the perfect breakfast :)

Wholemeal Banana Pancakes

¾ cup wholemeal flour

¼ cup plain flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

2 heaped tablespoons of caster sugar

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

40g butter, melted

300ml buttermilk

1 large egg

1 very ripe banana, mashed

sliced banana and maple syrup, to serve

  1. In a large bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and cinnamon.
  2. In another bowl or jug, combine the melted butter, egg, buttermilk and mashed banana. Pour the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
  3. Heat a large non-stick frying pan over moderate heat and pour ⅓ cup of batter into the pan. Depending on the size of your frying pan, you can cook more pancakes simultaneously. When bubbles are formed evenly over the surface, flip over and cook for a further 20 seconds or so.
  4. Once all your pancakes are ready, top them with sliced banana and drown them in maple syrup.

Makes two large servings.

13 Responses to “Wholemeal Banana Pancakes”

  1. I can barely contain my envy – you get to sleep in and eat a leisurely breakfast (your pancakes look awesome) and your thermometer moves past the 30°F mark (and past 80°F, for crying out loud)! :)

  2. 2 amie s.

    wow. this picture is perfect. *drool* :D

  3. That really does sound like the perfect breakfast, you’ve got me wanting to make pancakes now!

  4. So jealous!!! This whole weekend I sat in my pjs reading and relaxing, but now its back to the daily grind of school and work :( So I will have to live vicariously through you as you get to have some fun nowadays!

  5. so jealous. i’m so so jealous! it seems as though your enjoying your hiatus from the working world. those pancakes look awesome! just delicious!

  6. 6 nsrl

    Inspiring. The picture says “Eat me. Cook me and eat me.”

  7. Linda –

    Is “wholemeal” the same as “whole wheat” here in the US?

    Thanks – those look delish!

    Shannon

  8. Thank you everyone! Your comments always make me smile :)

    Shannon – yep, wholewheat flour is the same as wholemeal flour :)

  9. 9 JEP

    What terrific looking & healthy pancakes–yum!

  10. I was a lady of leisure for 9 months when I first moved to Sydney. Now I work an insane schedule, so I guess that’s payback. Pancakes are my favorite breakfast hands-down! These look great, and your photos are amazing!

  11. 11 miri

    These look so good! I’m not a real fan of pancakes but these I want to try! I was looking up the Jack Johnson song (banana pancakes) and I found this website! They look delicious!

  12. 12 Erena

    These look great going to go out and buy mixture now can’t wait to try them & hey healthy to:)

  13. 13 Haley

    I’m Haley, Key Ingredient’s Chief Blogger. We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks :)

    Haley
    http://blog.keyingredient.com/


Leave a Reply

