Peach and Plum Ice-cream

23Feb08


icecream1-3.jpg

Why is it that whenever I visit the local grocer, I always seem to bring home more than expected? Am I just a sucker for fresh produce? Does the big green enviro bag I carry need to be brought back filled to the brim? Can I not resist the colourful rows of fruit and vegetables just begging to be brought home? Does the big fat Italian man at the front of the store yelling at me, “ah, molto bella! Fresh-a peach-a for you-a dahling! Cheapa, cheapa! For you bella, only dollar fifty a kilo! Just for you, buy please!” tempt me into parting with more money? I have no idea!

I had the intention of only buying a few potatoes and carrots for my mum to make soup today, but instead, I came home with a kilo each of plums, bananas, peaches, nectarines and two punnets of strawberries and four pineapples (they were 50c each and no, that’s not a typo). With so much beautiful fruit and summer nearing its end in a few weeks, I thought a few batches of fruity ice-cream would be one of my last hurrahs to seasonal fruit. Enjoy! :)

Ice-cream

Both recipes follow the exact same steps and the ingredients are pretty much the same, with a hint more sugar for the plum version and a bit of water to help cook the peaches.

Plum

800g ripe plums, halved and stoned

200g sugar

500ml cream

200ml full-cream milk

2.5 teaspoons vanilla extract

6 egg yolks

Peach

800g ripe peaches, halved and stoned

180g sugar

¼ cup (60ml) water

500ml cream

200ml full-cream milk

2.5 teaspoons vanilla extract

6 egg yolks

  1. Place the fruit and 50g sugar in a medium saucepan, cover with a lid and cook over medium heat for around 10-15 minutes or until the fruit is just cooked and soft (for the peach version, add the 60ml of water). Allow to cool. Blend the cooked fruit until smooth. Strain the puree and discard the skins and other bits and pieces. Set aside in the fridge.
  2. In a bowl, whisk the remaining sugar and egg yolks. In a medium saucepan, heat the cream and milk and bring it to the boil. Remove from heat, add the vanilla extract. Add this hot liquid to the egg/sugar mix and whisk until combined. Pour this mixture into a clean saucepan and cook over moderate heat, stirring constantly until it is thick enough to coat a wooden spoon. If you find that there are little eggy bits floating in your custard, grab a balloon whisk and whisk like mad.
  3. Once the custard is ready, transfer to a clean bowl and place in the fridge until thoroughly chilled.
  4. Combine the chilled custard and fruit puree and churn in an ice-cream maker for 30 minutes or until thick.

Each recipe yields around 1.5L.

I have also made a strawberry version on this blog. See here.

11 Responses to “Peach and Plum Ice-cream”

  1. Oh my gosh and WOW! I have the same problem at the grocery store, even without the pressure from an Italian. Your ice cream sounds delicious! I totally love the picture! And I can’t wait for summer up here in the Northern Hemisphere. I could go on and on… but let’s just say, I love your stuff!

  2. I always bring home more than I intended to as well, much to the chagrin of my wallet! Those ice creams sound heavenly!

  3. I don’t blame you at all for being tempted by all the fruits! I get the same way too. Like a kid in a candy store :)

  4. I so don’t have that problem with the produce at my local store. I’m lucky if I can find any that I am willing to take home. Lucky you! Beautiful photo!

  5. Stunning.

    I’m exactly the same – I just need to have all that glorious fresh produce! I’ll work out what to do with it later…can’t I just admire it for now?

  6. i wish i had your problem with produce. finding good plums is always a hassle here, which sucks because i *love* plum ice cream (more specifically, plum gelato. still more specifically, the plum gelato at il crispino in rome).

    peaches i’m okay with, because i have a peach tree. i’m definitely bookmarking this one to try when the tree does its thing.

  7. I just think these look delightful! Love the colors & the photo! Wonderful idea to fix your produce problem! :)

  8. Thanks everyone! I LOVE ice-cream and I thought that these two flavours would be great. I’m never 100% happy with my photos, but I’m glad you all like them :)

    Joy – stop it! You’re making me blush :) I really will miss all the lovely fruit we’ve been having. I’m looking forward to winter though: puddings, crumbles, hot chocolate. I could make those now really!

    Jennifer and Michelle – it’s a shame that you guys don’t get great produce. Come live in Australia and you’ll be supplied with an abundance of everything!

  9. i think a lot of us suffer with this problem , but u seem to be the smarter one …. so many fab ice cream flavours. I really , really need to get me one of those ice cream makers. U’ve just tempted me so much i cant resist.

  10. 10 NPM

    Very nice and delicious

  11. 11 eastside resident

    yeah. same problem here. i am a vegetarian so my diets consist of lots of fresh fruits and veggies. each time i go to the fresh market, i always want to buy everything.


Leave a Reply

