Mocha Meringues

01Mar08

mocha-meringue2.jpg

I love stashing things in my freezer, but I’d hate to clean it out because I don’t really know what’s hiding in there half the time. I know there is a huge bag of blackened over-ripe bananas I keep on hand for cakes and muffins (20 in total, eek!), odds and ends of pastry, around five half-empty bags of berries and a roll or two of cookie dough ready to be sliced up and baked. I also have little plastic bags of egg whites hidden in every corner, because when I make ice-cream, custard or anything that uses a heap of egg yolks, I always save the egg whites and stash them in the freezer for another time. I seem to accumulate the egg whites at a much faster rate than I can use!

To use them up, I usually make simple white or brown sugar meringues and fill them with fresh fruit and softly whipped cream, but today I felt like something different, so a batch of mocha meringues was whipped up. The little meringue puffs are flavoured with coffee and cocoa, then sandwiched together with a smear of melted dark chocolate. Yum!

meringue-tray1.jpg

Mocha Meringues

(adapted from a recipe in delicious. magazine, February 2008)

3 large egg whites

180g caster sugar

1 teaspoon cornflour

½ teaspoon white vinegar

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

3 teaspoons ground coffee

80g dark chocolate

  1. Preheat the oven to 130°C. Line two baking trays with non-stick baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the egg whites until soft peaks form. While continuously whisking, add the sugar one tablespoon at a time until stiff and satiny shiny. Whisk in the vanilla, cornflour, white vinegar, cocoa powder and two teaspoons of the coffee until combined.
  3. Using a piping bag and a 1cm plain nozzle, pipe 60 small blobs onto the prepared trays around 2.5cm in diameter and 4cm apart.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes. Turn the oven off and with the door slightly ajar, allow the meringues to cool completely.
  5. Melt the chocolate and the remaining coffee in a bowl set over saucepan of simmering water. Allow to cool, then use to sandwich the meringue bases together.

Makes 30 and will keep for 2 days in an airtight container.

17 Responses to “Mocha Meringues”

  1. 1 VB

    Aren’t they the cutest thing!!!!!

  2. 2 tara

    We had Italian meringue kisses as a bit of a pre-dessert alongside the coffee and tea at our wedding; since then, I have an especially soft spot for them. These are just gorgeous – I love their dainty shape. A must try, to be sure.

  3. I need to work on my meringues, I still have difficulty knowing how much to whip the egg whites, (which I also have an abundance of).

  4. Those are darling! I love them! And I want to eat them for breakfast this morning with my coffee. I find myself waiting rather impatiently for your next post, and here it is, and I’m so glad!

  5. I’m speechless…!!! Pure heaven on earth…!!!
    I have some frozen eggwhites so I will definitely do some very soon.

  6. Those little meringue sandwich cookies look divine! Hey, I too have the stashing bug! Except I tend to collect yolks faster than whites. I’m always on the search for yolk-heavy recipes.

  7. adorable. i always have egg whites in the freezer too, but i’m terrible with meringue; i never get the consistency quite right. these have such perfect little points!

  8. 8 Linda

    Tara – I love the idea of having meringue kisses with coffee/tea at a wedding. I’m not even engaged yet, but I think I might do that too! (Z, if you’re reading this, please don’t run off. We’ll get married when we’re ready. Don’t freak out, lol).

    Brilynn and Michelle – I used to absolutely suck at making meringues and it was because I used to use a hand-held mixer and under-whipping. Get a freestanding mixer, go slow and whip the egg whites until REALLY stiff – so stiff that you can tip the bowl over your head and nothing will budge :)

    Joy – It’s the opposite with me as you post almost everyday and that makes me happy :) I know I should post more often and I’ve promised myself that I will. I had a few (okay, I had 7) for breakfast this morning and they were oh-so-good!

    Joanna and Cakebrain – Thanks :)

  9. They are just as cute as buttons! Anything that says meringue and I come running!

  10. I loved the idea of these meringues……and would appreciate some help.

    While traveling in Australia/NZ, I had a roulade made out of meringue and filled with whipped cream/strawberries. Luscious. I can’t find a recipe for how to make the roulade. I have recipes for pavlova but I don’t know how to convert the recipes. I’ve made chocolate sponge cake rollups (like roulades). What should go into the meringue recipe and how long should it cook. The dessert I had was crusty on the outside and the rest of the meringue was soft meringue. Do you roll it up while it is still warm.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  11. Thanks Tartelette :)

    Hi Anne! I’ve never made roulade before, but let me look into it and I’ll email you :)

  12. 12 Colette

    I had a bunch of egg whites left over from making pastry cream, so I made vanilla bean meringues (my first time) they turned out well, but should they be hollow? (some have holes on the side from sticking together I think I’ll fill them with ganache-and make sandwiches with the rest)

  13. Hi Colette, meringues shouldn’t be hollow. I can only think of a few reasons why they could be hollow: they were really small and/or been overbaked.

    Doesn’t matter too much if they are hollow, I still think they’d be tasty :)

  14. So cute and looks delicious! Now I know what I was doing wrong, my meringues never look like yours, I was using my hand mixer! Thanks for commenting about using a standing mixer, I will give it a try!

  15. 15 Maricel

    To Anne: Try googling for a Brazo de Mercedes recipe. It is a Meringue Roulade filled with a thick custard

  16. 16 Lacey

    I absolutely love the way these came out. I took this and made half vanilla, half mocha, and they taste so delicious. I find it ironic how the mocha ones looked like Hershey kisses and the vanilla looked like marshmallows.


  1. 1 Savvima » {Pesach} Mocha Meringues

Leave a Reply

