Raspberry Blueberry Muffins

26Mar08

muffins1.jpg

Three days ago, my boyfriend Z packed up his bags to travel to Baltimore to attend and present at an emergency health conference. It’s only been three days and I miss him already! God, how tragically pathetic. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love him to pieces and we’ve been apart before, but it’s only been three days. Honestly get a grip, Linda. He’ll be home soon.

muffins2-2.jpg

Not only do I miss him terribly, I’m also rather paranoid. I keep thinking that he’s going to meet a beautiful girl, fall in love with her and leave me… haha, just kidding. I know he’d never do that. I’m just being silly. I even joked warned him before he left, “you better not leave me for some stunning American named Tiffany, marry her and stay in the US!” (If not Tiffany, then she’d probably be called either Cherry, Hope or Faith in stereotypical American fashion, haha).

muffin5.jpg

In my worst nightmares, the ‘other woman’ would have gorgeously shiny wavy brown hair, absolute killer legs at six feet tall and sparkly yet seductive green eyes, with pearly whites and perky boobs like Jessica Simpson. Oh, she’d have sexy curves like Eva Mendes, lips like Jessica Alba and is as sweet and bubbly as Kate Hudson too. Big, big sigh… Although I’m joking, I pray to God he doesn’t meet someone like her!

He’ll be home in a week’s time (yeah I know, he’s only gone for nine days, I told you I was pathetic). So, until he comes home and showers me with love, kisses and hopefully a few awesome gifts, at least I have my muffins and other baked goodies to comfort me…

muffins4-3.jpg

These following recipe for these muffins are pretty much close to heaven. Not too sweet, fluffy soft on the inside and crunchy on the top. The sweetness of the blueberries are a perfect complement to the tart raspberries. These muffins would be great in a school lunch-box or just as a snack with a glass of milk or cup of tea.

Raspberry Blueberry Muffins

I remember I got this recipe from an old Australian cookery magazine. Can’t exactly recall which one, but I’ve made these muffins so many times now the quantities are permanently etched in my mind!

2 cups (300g) self-raising flour

½ teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

¾ cup (160g) brown sugar

200g raspberries

200g blueberries

zest from one lemon

1 cup (250ml) buttermilk

1 large egg

¼ cup (60ml) vegetable oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

icing sugar, to dust (optional)

  1. Preheat the oven to 190°C. Line a 12 hole muffin tin with paper liners or lightly grease with butter/oil.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, sugar, berries and lemon zest. In a small bowl, or jug, lightly combine the buttermilk, egg, oil and vanilla.
  3. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and gently mix until just combined. When making muffins, I mix until 90% of the flour disappears.
  4. Divide the batter into the prepared tin and bake for around 25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean and the muffins are golden brown and springy to touch. Allow to cool on a wire rack.
  5. Dust with icing sugar if desired.
18 Responses to “Raspberry Blueberry Muffins”

  1. These muffins would calm me down in no time. American girl or no American girl around my man. ;)

  2. if you keep making delectable goodies like this, I don’t think you have to worry about your boyfriend leaving you for an American…even if she has great boobs! :)

  3. I’m planning to try this recipe tonight! Don’t worry – he won’t leave you! :)
    Where did you get those muffin liners? They’re absolutely adorable!

  4. Mmm indeed these do sound like heavenly, comforting muffins! Why would you even need a boyfriend at all when you can have these muffins? Haha, just kidding. I hope he returns to you safe and sound and without an American woman! =)

  5. Love muffins! Going to have to try this recipe because it has some of my favorite berries! And don’t worry about the boy, he’ll return without another woman.

  6. 6 noolives

    Beautiful photography!

  7. What beautiful muffins! I love the muffin liners, too!

  8. Leave you? With all the goodies you make? No way!!! Hope the baking and eating provides you with some stress relief. They look absolutely delicious!

  9. Thanks everybody! Four days left and he’s home. I might even make a celebratory ‘welcome home’ pie :)

  10. 10 bluewaveted

    Muffins! Your post has left me with a craving! AAArrggghhhh!!! LOL

  11. 11 Kate

    haha thats a nightmare a lot of ladies have. My’s hubby has travelled too , only for 2 days and i’ve already called him like 50 times. Gosh i cant stay without him either , and lol BTW i baked too while he was away … now i’m eating my cake and looking at your lovely muffins… girls …sigh !! hahaha …
    well i pray that ur boyfriend does not find any tiffany or cherry …hahaha u are funny girl !

  12. Muffins look great. Love the combo of flavors. Yum

    Sharona May

  13. 13 Nat

    Hahaha… Silly girl in love. You know, I still stand by not coming here so often because I’m too lazy to bake and you’re too far away to bake for me. =( Even though I “own” you on Facebook.

  14. 14 Nina

    I love those cute cupcake cases!!!!

  15. Bluewaveted – that’s the main reason I hate reading food blogs. I get SO hungry!

    Kate – he’s back now! The stress has gone! :p

    Sharona May and Nina – thanks!

    Nat – no-one owns me on Facebook. No-one! :)

  16. hah! I just made strawberry blueberry muffins last week, but didn’t have time to take pics. Ok, it’s more like i made them for a brunch, and we all gobbled them up too quickly. So looks like I’ll have to make them again. Darn it. Maybe I’ll do half with raspberries like yours since I love them.

  17. Oh my gosh those are the CUTEST muffin cups I have ever seen! How adorable!

  18. 18 Syin

    I made these today with a pack of frozen berry mix. They were yummy when warm out the oven, but I felt they were a little ‘too’ moist, probably because of the frozen berries so that’s definitely my fault. I might make these again since they were so easy and quick, but I’ll definitely reduce the liquids a little to compensate for the frozen berries.


Leave a Reply

