Roasted Banana Ice-Cream

18Apr08

Back in March 2006, Australia literally went bananas without bananas. You see, banana crops in northern Queensland were destroyed as a result of Cyclone Larry (hurricanes and cyclones are the same-ish if you’re wondering). Over 95% of the crops were depleted and we went without bananas for a very long time. Once they returned, they were selling as high as $16 a kilogram! Suffice to say, no one wanted to pay $3 for a lonesome banana, so we all went without for a year.

The funniest memory during the shortage was when my dad gave my mum a bunch of bananas wrapped up in tissue paper and ribbon as part of a surprise gift. The ‘bouquet’ looked absolutely ridiculous but mum loved them as they are one of her favourite fruits. They were so expensive at the time so it probably would have cost more than a nice bunch of flowers. Good work Dad!

Anyway, the farmers have been back on their feet since then and the crops have all recovered so the fruit is being sold at the usual price of around $1 – $2 a kilogram and we can eat bananas to our heart’s content. Hooray!

In cooking, I’ve used bananas in a variety of dishes before. I’ve mushed them up in cakes (especially hummingbird cake, my favourite), in muffins, piled on top of pancakes, sliced with cereal or porridge for breakfast, caramelised and golden in a tarte tatin, but I’ve never used them for ice-cream.

When I saw the recipe for roasted banana ice-cream in David Lebovitz’s book, ‘The Perfect Scoop’, I’ve been itching to try it ever since. So far out of the book I have tried the gianduja gelato, the avocado ice-cream and the mojito granita. All were wonderfully delicious and I plan on testing out many more soon. Let me just say that the following recipe is just deeee-licious! I never thought roasting bananas would create such an intense flavour, but oh boy, it does. The best part of this ice-cream recipe is that there is no fiddly custard to make or even the need to whip up some cream. It’s just roasted bananas, full-cream milk, a bit of sugar, lemon juice and salt. That’s it! Give it a go and you can thank me later :)

Roasted Banana Ice-cream

3 medium ripe bananas

75g brown sugar

1.5 cups (375ml) full-cream milk

2 tablespoons caster sugar

1.5 teaspoons lemon juice

half teaspoon vanilla extract

quarter teaspoon salt

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C.
  2. In a small baking dish, chop up the bananas and toss in the brown sugar. Bake for around 40 minutes or until the bananas are cooked through, caramelised and golden. Turn them once during cooking.
  3. In a blender or food processor, blitz the hot bananas, the syrup from the dish, milk, sugar, lemon juice, vanilla and salt until smooth. Chill this mixture until cold in the fridge or ice bath.
  4. Churn in an ice-cream machine until thick or place in a plastic container, pop it in the freezer and give it a good whip every few hours.

P.S. Sorry for the lack of posts, I’ve been a bit distracted as of late and I usually don’t feel like getting in the kitchen when I’m ‘not quite right’.

32 Responses to “Roasted Banana Ice-Cream”

  1. My ice cream maker has just arrived and this is definitely going to be on my “to-churn-list”!

  2. oh, a banana shortage would render me speechless! They greet me every morning and my oatmeal just wouldn’t be the same without it. I bet this ice cream would be really tasty with some chocolate chips sprinkled around too.

  3. 3 Gigi

    You had me at banana. This would be the perfect ice cream for a banana split!

  4. no bananas!! i shudder to think! i was completely oblivious to the shortage, but i’m glad you got through it with your sanity still intact! :) i’ll be eating my bananas with a new appreciation now!

    meanwhile, your ice cream looks scrumptious.

  5. 5 lovewitness

    Wow! I am no genius in the kitchen but I will blogroll your site for the day inspiration comes to try out one of them. Nice graphics.

  6. 6 Kimi

    I love your blog. The pictures are so beautiful. I found you at Tastespotting. I’d like to refer you to this fantastic publisher program I have just joined with Foodbuzz! I think your blog would be a great fit. The program is designed to promote and drive traffic to your blog, foster a food blog community and provide a way to monetize your site should you choose to. It’s awesome.
    All you have to do is click the following link to fill out the Foodbuzz Referral Form. Please let them know that Kimi at gardengalkim@gmail.com referred you.The Foodbuzz Team can then contact you asap!
    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=PHmE_2beDgRu9lXCecP7ezkA_3d_3d
    Hope to see you at FoodBuzz!

  7. Ah-ha! This is the just the recipe I have been looking for! Wonderful!!!

  8. 8 carrotplease

    Sounds like heaven… can’t wait to try it! yum!

  9. This is one of the handful of recipes I’ve tried from The Perfect Scoop – and I love love love it! Roasting the bananas… I almost didn’t make ice cream out of it – I could have eaten them all just as they were!

  10. I would never survive a year without bananas! :)

    That ice cream looks and sounds divine.

  11. This sounds fantastic! Roasted bananas in ice cream form? What kind of genius are you?

  12. that sounds absolutely amazing. i could eat just the roasted bananas too – YUM!

  13. Thank you all for your lovely comments!!

    Amanda and Grace – It was pretty sucky having no bananas for the year. I eat them nearly everyday in case there’s another shortage :)

    Hillary – I’m not the genius, David Lebovitz is. His book and recipes are amazing.

  14. Damnit, you and your ice cream maker are making me so jealous! When I finally get one, I think I’m going to make nothing but ice cream for a week! And then die from all the calories – which I’ll blame you for :P

  15. Roasted banana ice cream sounds so good!!

  16. 16 Cecilia

    A big “Welcome back!” to my favourite blog…nearly went into drool withdrawal. Hope that everything’s back on track and we can look forward to further yummy recipes (+ their gorgeous pics)

  17. i’m not the biggest fan of bananas,except when they’re in a banana split, a banana bread or banofee pie. mum loves em though so she’s definitely gonna like this recipe!! thanks for sharing. x

  18. Ellie – lol, it’s about time you got one! But the excess calories are a downside, I agree :)

    Kevin – Try it, it’s soooo yummy :)

    Cec – hey Cec! Thank you for stopping by :)

    Diva – I’m sure your mum will love this recipe, try it yourself :)

  19. Made it once with David Lebovits recipe and since then I have been hooked on roasting every fruit for ice cream. Carzy me!! This is fabulous Linda!

  20. 20 Y

    Roasted banana ice cream sounds absolutely yum! It’s times like this I wish I had an ice-cream maker!

  21. Roasted banana ice cream? I love both David and you now!:D
    This scoop really looks perfect.
    Thanks!

  22. I totally and completely (puffy glittered heart) love banana. Always have. Always will.
    Maybe it’s because I am often called Janna Banana. Hmmm. This sounds so very good!

  23. 23 growitgreen

    I love gelato, but it is difficult to find a shop that makes it in my small town in S.C. so, I have to make it myself when I get a craving. I appreciate all of the recipes I can get my hands on. Check out this “cool” article about gelato at http://www.foodista.com

  24. I’ve just made this recipe and loved it, thanks for sharing.
    P.S. great blog!
    Sam

  25. 25 shahnoz

    sounds very wonderful. is it ok to use regular cane sugar instead of brown?

  26. I don’t think so. The brown sugar gives it a specific flavour.

  27. hey cheers for that… very informative – i’ve added your blog to my netvibes account – thanks :)

  28. 28 Michele

    I found this recipe while searching for a basic banana recipe and the roasted part sounded very intriguing. Wow – this is super delicious! I veganized by using coconut milk (1 can) and, since I only had two bananas on hand, I made do with those and cut down on the the other ingredients accordingly. I also made maple candied walnuts and threw those in. It’s been a long time since I’ve had dairy ice-cream but I can’t imagine this any more perfect. Thank you so much.

  29. 29 Emma

    My ice cream maker is coming in next week and this will be at the top of my to spin list. I’m going to try it with nutella swirled in. Banana and nutella is a favorite pairing of mine.

  30. very very yummy Ice Cream a water is coming in my mouth ………………after seeing this first i am going to buy a Ice Maker after that i will………….. try thnx for such a nice post………….

  31. Just went bananas over this recipe. So yummy.

  32. 32 J

    This is delicious and so easy to make!


Leave a Reply

