Carrot Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

25Apr08

Yep, I admit it, I’m an internet junkie. I use it every single day and I think I would have withdrawal symptoms without it. I use it to check the weather, pay my bills, find out the latest news, email, chat, blogs, shopping, download music or movies, catch up with friends on Facebook, read restaurant reviews, I could go on and on.

I particularly love to shop online. So many sites offer products at a cheaper price than you would find in the retail stores and even with postage, I can still end up saving lots of money. I think it’s the convenience factor which sucks me in. With a credit card and a few simple clicks, that’s it!

Two of my favourite shopping sites are eBay and Amazon. I’ve bought all kinds of things off eBay: cosmetics, books, kitchenware, DVDs and so many other random bits and bobs. One of my most favourite eBay bargains is the cake stand I’ve used in the photos for this post. It was brand new, sealed in its box and I got it for $15 with postage! :)

Amazon is my favourite for books. Although Australia stocks most internationally printed titles, the price comparison between here and the US is ridiculous. For example, Dorie Greenspan’s ‘Baking from my Home to Yours’ retails at around $80 here in specialty cookbook stores but I can buy it online at Amazon for just over $30 and with postage, I’ve still got change from $50! Since the Australian dollar is doing so well at the moment, I’ve gone a little crazy with online shopping. I’ve even got Z onto Amazon where he purchases his medical textbooks (yeah, I know, boring!)

I just love the internet. Without it, I would never be able to sit on my butt and abuse my credit card or be able to write all this gibberish and share the most kickass carrot cupcake recipe with you! :)

Carrot Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

The best thing about this recipe is that you only need two bowls, one for the cupcakes and one for the frosting. No need to use the huge mixer and spend forever cleaning it, yay!

Makes 12 perfect cupcakes.

½ cup caster sugar

¼ cup brown sugar

½ cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup plain flour

¾ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 ½ cups grated carrots, around 4 medium carrots

¼ cup pecans, chopped

Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

125g cream cheese, room temperature

30g unsalted butter, softened

2 cups icing sugar, sifted

¼ cup maple syrup

6 pecans, cut in half

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease or line with papers a 12-hole muffin tin.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the sugars and oil until combined. Add the eggs one by one and mix until smooth. Add the vanilla extract.
  3. Sift all the dry ingredients into the bowl and mix. Add the grated carrots and pecans.
  4. Divide the batter between the muffin pans and bake for around 14 minutes or until golden brown and springy to touch. Allow to cool.
  5. For the frosting, mix the cream cheese, butter, icing sugar and maple syrup until smooth. Frost the cooled cupcakes and top with the pecan halves.
26 Responses to “Carrot Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting”

  1. i echo your sentiments about the internet. when i have to go a day or two without it, i wonder how i’m ever going to catch up on everything i’ve missed! “obsession” is putting it lightly, i believe. :)

    meanwhile, i love carrot cake, especially with cream cheese frosting. the addition of maple syrup is a stroke of genius, and i’ll definitely be trying it next time!

  2. I won’t go a day without going online either. :)
    These cupcakes are so adorable and look delicious!

  3. I am an internet addict too. Forget the TV, I need my computer. And another thing I am addicted to? CREAM CHEESE FROSTING! It’s so good. I just made a huge batch of carrot cakes and even though I am slightly nauseous at the idea of more carrot cakes, your’s look really adorable. Not to mention that your new cake stand literally takes the cake :)

  4. that is one cute cake stand! And I agree, both ebay and amazon rocks.

  5. oh, internet, i have such a co-dependent relationship with you. what did i do for those first 17 years of my life, before i had ready access to you?

    i can hardly even remember the days of dial-up. what hell must that have been?

    also, beautiful cupcakes. i’m totally convinced that maple syrup is the secret ingredient for a wide, wide range of foods.

  6. I just made some carrot cupcakes with maple cream cheese frosting too, but yours turned out much prettier (mine sunk – alot). Anyway, I love that cake stand and completely agree about the internet. I am known at work for being the one who believes that if it can’t be found online, then it must not exist. Can’t go without it! Great job on the cupcakes (and the credit card abuse ; )

  7. Would it be gluttonous to eat just the maple cream cheese frosting with a spoon?

  8. 8 Jude

    I too buy almost all my books online. Went to Borders the other day to check out Chocolate & Zucchini and although their records showed they had it it wasn’t to be found. Dunno why I bothered – much cheaper on Amazon anyway. I aloso love http://www.bookdepository.co.uk for UK books…they have FREE delivery.

  9. Thank everyone!

    Grace – Obsession, addiction, dependence. Same thing! :p

    Patricia – thanks, they were so delicious that I ate 4! :)

    Amanda – The funny thing is, I get live TV on my computer! So my computer is always on. But then again, most of the TV shows that I watch are downloaded anyway :)

    Mandy – thanks! I love the cake stand, it fits an 8inch square cake perfectly and a 9 or so cupcakes :)

    Michelle – Although I am only 21, I remember the days of the good old floppy disk! :p Maple syrup is so bad that it’s soooo good :)

    Holly – oh no, sunken cupcakes! “… if it can’t be found online, then it must not exist” – oh so true! But the credit card abuse must stop, it’s getting out of hand! :)

    Susan – just do it. Make a half batch of frosting, eat it with a spoon or spread it on toasted brioche. Oh yeah! :D

    Jude – Oooh, a new book site, more money to spend, lol :p

  10. mmm.. those look yummy & SO cute! your photos are great too! :)

  11. Oh my. Well, these look good! Maybe…too good? I may have to go through the batch–the entire batch–to find out! :-)

  12. also need my daily doze of the internet.
    i’ve seen so many wonderful things online at such an incredible price , but unfortunately its only good if you’re in IS, UK or AUS … as they dont deliver most of the items to Ghana – W Africa, and even if they do the delivery charge is killing.
    your cake stand is a steal. it looks amazing, and so do your cupcakes.

  13. ps. I passed on a blogging award to you Ms. Linda! For all your wonderful pictures and fun posts :)

  14. Anythig with cream cheese frosting is wonderful, but maple cream cheese frosting…well then it rocks!!! Gorgeous pictures!

  15. 15 joanne

    everytime i feel bored of work, i will check out your site for new updates which makes me happy cos of all your beautiful pictures… i love baking but never seem to have the time to bake. I am always caught up with work and taking care of my baby…
    but i will FIND time (fingers cross) to try out this recipe.

  16. 16 Y

    Great looking carrot cupcakes. I’ve been thinking about making carrot cake lately too, because recently, it’s just been all bananas bananas, and it’s driving me carrots!

  17. 17 Lynn

    Beautiful cake plate! Good ebay score. Your cupcakes look delicious. I think I could totally get my kids to eat carrots if I packaged them this way.

  18. These cupcakes look lovely! Your cake stand it gorgeous too!

  19. 19 Linda

    Thank you everybody! :) xx

  20. OMG! Gorgeous cupcakes! Beautiful photos! You’ve got a really great eye! I’m sorry I haven’t been by in a while, but your stuff is looking awesome! And the internet…. well I love it! Without it, I’d never know you and your gorgeous treats! Hope you’re well!

  21. 21 domesticgoddessdan

    i just made these last night. they were so good, my husband ate three in a row and was seriously considering delving into a forth – and probably would have if it hadn’t have been so late! they disappeared all too quick, and i regreted not making a double batch.
    the cupcake is lovely and moist – and even tho i started to panic when i saw how much they had sunk, this didn’t affect how they taste.
    the icing worked like magic – a real keeper.
    i will be making these again very soon

  22. 22 diva

    mmmm. carrot cupcakes are such a classic. really like the idea of maple cream cheese frosting. it’s been a while since i had maple.

  23. Your cupcakes look beautiful.

    Sharona May

  24. Wow! Those look d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s :-))) Great photo (like always :-)).

  25. I’m Sophie, Key Ingredient’s Chief Blogger. We would like to feature this cupcake recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks :)

    Sophie
    http://blog.keyingredient.com/

  26. 26 Doreen Murray

    Hi Linda

    I have just stumbled across your blog and I am hooked.
    I was looking for recipes for Gluten/Dairy free cupcakes
    and a wedding cake.

    I have an engagement and wedding to organise for my daughter
    and she is intolerant of so many ingredients.

    Can you or any of your avid fans help?

    Kind regards
    Doreen Murray


Leave a Reply

