Apple Blueberry Turnovers

17May08

Firstly, I’d like to apologise for being totally slack the past couple of weeks and neglecting this little blog. I’ve just been so busy with my new job (yay!) and other personal things that are going on. I’ve been itching to get back into the kitchen and bake, but just haven’t had time. Today, I finally found a whole afternoon to myself and I’m back into the swing of things!

I’ve always been a bit hesitant in making pastry for the fear that I would miserably fail and end up with buttery cardboard, but for some strange reason, I woke up this morning wanting to give puff pastry a go and use it for something sweet. After perusing a few baking books, I realised I didn’t have enough butter in my fridge and I did not want to tackle the torrential downpour outside to visit the supermarket, so I had to seek out an alternative.

After flicking through ‘Let It Simmer’ by Australian Sean Moran, I found a wonderful recipe for apple blueberry turnovers and his recipe for the pastry is the easiest flaky pastry recipe ever. It only required whizzing most of the ingredients in a food processor, then letting it rest in the fridge for forty-five minutes. No messy incorporation of butter or multiple folds and turns of the pastry. Just whizz, chill, roll. Easy as that!

Happy baking!

Apple Blueberry Turnovers

Adapted from a recipe by Sean Moran in ‘Let It Simmer’.

2 large golden delicious or granny smith apples

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

100g caster sugar

pinch of salt

1½ tablespoons cornflour

squeeze of lemon juice

100g blueberries

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 tablespoons milk

raw/demerara sugar, to sprinkle

cream cheese pastry

150g unsalted butter, diced and frozen for 30 minutes

125g cream cheese, chilled

250g plain flour, sifted

pinch of salt

¼ teaspoon baking powder

¼ cup iced water

  1. For the pastry, blend the cream cheese, flour, salt and baking powder in a food processor until evenly grainy. Add the chilled butter and pulse for several seconds until the mixture is made of pea-sized lumps. Add the iced water and pulse for an extra second. Spoon the mixture into a plastic freezer or ziplock bag, then knead from outside the bag with your heels and knuckles until the dough holds together in one piece (it should feel slightly stretchy when pulled). Flatten the dough into a disc and refrigerate, in the plastic bag, for at least 45 minutes.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Peel, core and dice the apples (there should be roughly 300g of fruit). Toss with the cinnamon, caster sugar and salt. Add the blueberries and mix gently.
  3. Roll the pastry out on a well-floured surface until 2mm thick. Cut rounds with a 13cm diameter pastry cutter (or simply use a cake plate or bowl). Re-roll the scraps and cut out more rounds.
  4. Divide the filling between the pastry rounds, piling it on to one half and leaving a 1cm border around the edge. Paint the edge lightly with egg before folding pastry over to seal. Reserve the egg mix.
  5. Place the turnovers onto a baking tray and refrigerate for 30 minutes before baking.
  6. Mix the milk with the remaining egg and brush this over each turnover. Poke a few holes into each pastry to allow steam to vent. Sprinkle the raw/demerara sugar on top of each turnover. Bake for 12-15 minutes until the pastry is golden (the sauce will probably ooze out of the holes too). Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 15 or so.

18 Responses to “Apple Blueberry Turnovers”

  1. 1 Amanda

    Welcome back Linda! Congrats on the new job. These little turnovers remind me of those lemon/cherry pies you’d get in like 3rd grade that had the bright wrapper and was sold at the cafeteria. You know, the ones they don’t sell now because they are too fatty/sugary/artificial. Except yours are homemade and probably ten times better!

  2. Great recipe, if you have the time to publish a video on how to make it, that would be nice

  3. 3 Matt

    I forgive you :)

    These look lovely.

  4. 4 Joy

    Oh yum! Looks delicious. I’ve been avoiding pastry dough forever, but I’m willing to give this a try since you said it was easy. :)

  5. 5 Linda

    Amanda – Thanks love! These turnovers are soooo good!

    Matt – Cheers Matt, I’m glad someone forgave me. All is well again! :)

    Joy – Trust me, the pastry is dead easy. I was hesitant, but glad I gave it a go.

  6. These sound like they would disappear quick in my kitchen! Yum!

  7. Life does get in the way sometimes and we can’t cook/bake/blog.
    These look so delicious!

  8. 8 kate

    Congrats on your new job. And these turn over are just superb. Never made cream cheese pastry before , and cant wait to try thsi recipe out. Its a pretty good one.

  9. 9 Amber

    Those were worth the wait. They look scrumptious. Though I was still drooling over the cupcakes every time I visited the site.

  10. Hey – you didn’t tell me you got a new job! Congrats babe! The turnovers are gorgeous – I make a MUCH lazier version with premade puff pastry and no blueberries, but either way they make a great sweet treat :)

  11. 11 Y

    Those look great. I saw them in Let it Simmer as well, and have been tempted to make them, but never got round to it.

    Congrats on your new job.

  12. 12 Mandy

    congrats on the new job. The turnovers look delightful.

  13. 13 Linda

    Thanks everyone! :D

  14. How am I just finding your blog now?
    Turnovers hold a very special place in my heart.
    They are warm and fuzzy memories for me.
    Yours look great!

  15. Looks absolutely delightful!

  16. 16 Tracy

    These look so delicious. Very nice picture – nice colors.

  17. 17 Pocky

    Does the pastry have the same texture as ready bought puff pastry?
    I have had so many disasters with all kinds of pastry but I might just try this one…

  18. Hi Pocky,

    The pastry doesn’t have the layers like puff does, but it’s still rather crisp and holds the filling well.


Leave a Reply

