Favourites of the week

14Jun08

I was going to experiment with chai-flavoured cupcakes this weekend, hence the photo, but ‘unfortunately’ I don’t have time to because I’m too busy celebrating my birthday! I know, what a shame :) I turned the big 22 yesterday and I have the whole weekend filled with food, fun and friends. Yay!

So in this lazy post, I’ll share with you a few of my sweet favourites of the week:

  • Melissa at The Traveler’s Lunchbox has just returned from a trip to Abruzzo, Italy and her recipe for Gelato di Fragola e Balsamico (Strawberry and Balsamic Vinegar Gelato to you and I) is a winner. It’s made with mascarpone cheese, so it will definitely be luscious and creamy. Her photos on the blog are always gorgeous and her foodie/travel stories are wonderful to read. I love her blog!
  • Next is the ultra talented Tartelette. Her unique creations, photos, stories and recipes are always fabulous and her macarons are to die for. As soon as I saw her drool-worthy Snickers Macarons, I knew they were a must on my ‘To Bake’ list. I can’t wait!
  • Lastly, we have the lovely Bea at La Tartine Gourmande. Every foodie/blog reader knows about her and she is a food stylist/photographer extraordinaire. Her photos are simply beautiful and I only wish I had some of her creativity and talent. Her Apple Juice Sabayon looked absolutely amazing and I am looking forward to summer when I can make this with the season’s best berries.

Have a great weekend everyone and I’ll be back in the kitchen again next week :)

11 Responses to “Favourites of the week”

  1. 1 Kate

    Happy Birthday girl, hope u have a wonderful day. U are soooo young ! just 22 !
    well hope u have a blast, we’ll wait a bit for the chai cupcakes :)

  2. 2 Lisa

    Happy Birthday! I didn’t know you were a gemini too (I turn 20 on Tuesday!)
    Can’t wait to see the chai cupcakes, I loooove chai :)

  3. 3 danny

    happy birthday! Those look delicious!

  4. Happy Birthday Linda! I hope your weekend is full of overflowing cocktails and platters of delicious sweet treats. Usher in 22 with a big fat party!

  5. 5 Linda

    Kate – thanks love! I am a baby, but I feel like I’m 30 already :)

    Lisa – Whoo hoo, another Gemini. I will definitely have to head on over to Spicy Icecream and send my birthday wishes to you next week :)

    Danny – thanks.

    Amanda – thank you sweetie! It definitely will be a weekend of great fun!

  6. 6 Tracy

    Happy Birthday! Let someone else cook for you this weekend :)

  7. 7 Nikki

    Happy belated birthday!

    p.s. I’ve tagged you!

  8. 8 Teresa

    hi,
    I just found your blog, and had to read through it all. Your cooking looks so delicious! And your photos are beautiful.
    Can’t wait to read about the goodies you make next!
    Teresa

  9. 9 Y

    Happy belated birthday! Looking forward to seeing some chai cupcakes some time :)

  10. Thanks everyone. Chai cupcakes are still being worked on :)

  11. Happy (very) belated birthday! I hope you had a wonderful time, whatever you ended up doing!
    Thank you for the shout out :)


Leave a Reply

