Chocolate Marshmallows

24Aug08

I have a great memory. I remember lots of random facts (I’m good at trivia), can recite a song’s lyrics word for word after only listening to it a few times and I can sit and quote movies/television for hours (Scrubs, The Wedding Singer and Love, Actually are favourites). Also, I never, ever forget a birthday, but I managed to let the first birthday of this very blog slip my mind last month!

Butter Sugar Flour was created on July 8, 2007 and a whole year, plus a bit more, has already passed. This blog has been a very welcome addition to my life as it’s allowed me to to be more creative in the recipes I try and it has sparked a love of photography that I never expected. Through the blog I’ve managed to make ‘meet’ fellow bloggers (a shoutout to Matt, Ellie and Joy!) and although I can get lazy with posting sometimes, I really do love working on this blog and reading everyone’s comments makes me happy :)

So happy first birthday and a special hip, hip, hip hooray for Butter Sugar Flour and with 150, 000+ hits and counting, here’s to another year of yummy recipes and ‘sweet’ times!

Chocolate Marshmallows

To celebrate the blog’s first birthday, I wanted to make something special, but different, and I thought chocolate marshmallows would be perfect. I’ve never made marshmallows before and I think it’s great fun to try something new. They are incredibly easy to make, especially if you have a stand mixer and a sugar thermometer.

Recipe adapted from the classic marshmallow recipe by Thomas Keller.

20g powdered gelatine

330g (2 cups) sugar

100ml glucose syrup/corn syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 teaspoons Dutch-processed cocoa powder

icing sugar and Dutch-processed cocoa powder, to dust

  1. In a 20cm square cake tin, liberally dust the surface with icing sugar. Set aside.
  2. Place the gelatin in a bowl of a stand mixer with a whisk attachment ready, add 80ml of water and allow to stand for 10 minutes.
  3. In a small saucepan, combine sugar, syrup and 80ml of water. Place over medium heat and stir until dissolved. Boil until the sugar syrup reaches 121 degrees Celsius or the hardball stage (drop a teaspoon full of the syrup in a small bowl and you have reached hardball stage when you it sets quickly into a ball and only compresses with firm pressure, but stays sticky).
  4. With the stand mixer on low speed, in a slow, steady stream, pour the syrup into the gelatin mix. Mix until dissolved. Increase the speed to high and beat for 8 minutes or until thick and fluffy. Do not overbeat or they will be tough. Sift in the cocoa powder and mix for a few seconds.
  5. Spread the marshmallow mix into the prepared tin and smooth the top with a spatula. Set aside for at least 5 hours or overnight.
  6. Using a lightly greased knife, cut the marshmallows into squares and roll in a mix of icing sugar and cocoa powder to coat.
33 Responses to “Chocolate Marshmallows”

  1. Happy first birthday to Butter Sugar Flour ! Great blog, great pictures and great recipes !

  2. congrats! I love coming to your blog to see your pictures and read your posts. Thanks for keeping us in your kitchen, so to speak!

  3. They look fantastic! Congrats and Happy Bloganniversary!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Happy Blogoversary! Those marshmallows look wonderful! Now I’m dreaming of upscale s’mores with home made graham crackers and guittard chocolate. :)

  5. Happy Blogiversary! Great shot – the woollen cover the plate is sitting on looks like it will curl up and hug the mugs – nice!

  6. Those are some of my favorites too! Your photography is gorgeous, and this recipe looks yummy. Happy anniversary! (Hooch is crazy.)

  7. Happy blog birthday!
    This is a great way of celebrating… I have been thinking of chocolate marshmallows for a while now and these are such an inspiration!

  8. Congrats on a year!

    The first time I made marshmallows I had goo everywhere! I’ve since become somewhat better at it, but still not great…

  9. 9 gkbloodsugar

    What a great way to celebrate! Marshmallows have to be one the ultimate party foods.
    Fantastic photograph too.

  10. YAY! Happy Blog Birthday. Awesome. Super Awesome!
    Your marshmallows look dreamy. I haven’t made marshmallows forever… you’ve inspired me.
    I hope things are happy for you there on the other side of the world!

  11. happy blog birthday! keep up the great work! :)

  12. Happy first birthday to your blog :) Those look absolutely outstanding! I don’t typically like marshmallow’s but I do absolutely adore home made ones.. I would love to try this recipe. Thanks for the inspiration :)

  13. Happy first blog birthday. I’ve only discovered your blog recently but I love the recipes and photos. I was just looking to make marshmallows after seeing Simon Bryant make it on The Cook and The Chef. But his passionfruit marshmallows required more precision on the temperature when beating the egg whites even, so I think I might try this recipe instead.

  14. 14 Z

    You are an amazing woman… you surprise and awe me with your talent everyday.

    Best Wishes

  15. 15 shirley

    can’t believe you forgot MY birthday! the chocolate marshmallows more than make up for it, thanks… and happy anniversary/birthday!

  16. I’ve always wanted to learn how to make Marshmellows. This is just perfect. They look so nice, i cant help but want to try these right away.Thanks so much and Happy Bloggie Birthday to do :)

  17. I really like your blog, it’s simple but very nice. And your recipes – yum! I’m going to link you, if thats okay!

  18. Your marshmallows are so cute and sound delicious. They look marbleized! Yum, I bet they’d taste amazing on their own or in a s’more!

    We’d like to invite you to participate in our September apple and peach recipe contest. All competitors will be eligible to win one of three prizes :)! Please email me, sophiekiblogger@gmail.com, if you’re interested. Feel free to check out our blog for more details: http://blog.keyingredient.com/2008/08/29/september-kick-contest/
    Thanks :),

    Sophie
    KI Chief Blogger

  19. just stumbled upon your blog – how lucky! It’s beautiful. So glad i’ve found another blogger to read :)

  20. These are so pretty! I’m not a huge fan of marshmallows [unless they are in s’mores] but I might just have to make these!

  21. I adore homemade marshmallows! I have yet to do a chocolate one, but yours look fabulous!

  22. Happy [belated] blog birthday! I adore your photos. Those marshmallows look amazing!

  23. YUM! I loved making original marshmallows and these look great!

  24. Gracias everyone! You’re all so kind :)

    L xx

  25. Happy Blog-O-versary!

  26. LOVE this idea…. can’t wait to try it myself :)
    great post!

  27. Happy Blog Birthday from Tuccelli Marshmallow. The Marshmallow image on your site looks like it was done by a pro

  28. Thanks everyone :)

  29. 29 madeleinenguyen

    happy belated one year anniversary! I just found out about your blog and love it :) Thanks for posting all the wonderful goodies & pics.

  30. 30 rachael

    i have never thought of chocolate marshmallows.. well not of making them, at least. i think i once had those marshmallows that have chocolate inside them and was not impressed. but these i will have to try!..

    Hooch IS crazy.

  31. 31 Lola

    I LOVE chocolate marshmallows! Thanks!

  32. Thanks for posting the recipe. what a perfect combination. I love chocolate n mmarshmallows :)

  33. You really do a lot of experiments on mallows. This one is quite a treat.


Leave a Reply

