Apricot Granola

12Oct08

I. LOVE. GRANOLA.

Yep, I love it so much, I had to declare it in capital letters. I know everyone else does too. My first granola recipe is one of the most popular recipes visited on my blog and I thought another version might be appreciated.

What I love about this particular granola recipe is that it’s sweet without being overpoweringly sweet, it has that warm homely smell of cinnamon and vanilla, the apricots had a different textural dimension and it has the perfect amount of crunch. Delicious for breakfast in the morning with yoghurt, yummy as an on-the-go snack and yummy with milk for a late-night treat in front of the TV.

Enjoy!

Apricot Granola

I particularly don’t like clumpy granola, but if you do, simply ensure that you firmly compress the granola into the trays before you let it cool. Then, once it’s cool, you can break it up into clumps.

7 cups rolled oats

2 cups slivered almonds

1 cup brown sugar

¾ cup raw sunflower seeds

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

⅔ cup vegetable oil

½ cup honey

1½ tablespoons vanilla extract

1½ cups diced apricots

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line two large baking trays with baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, almonds, sugar, sunflower seeds and cinnamon. In a small saucepan, heat the oil and honey over medium heat until just simmering.
  3. Pour the liquid mixture over the oat mixture and thoroughly combine with your hands (careful it’s hot!) until everything is coated. Spread the mixture onto the prepared trays.
  4. Bake for approximately 25 minutes, stirring every ten minutes to ensure even browning. Bake until golden brown. Stir in the apricots as soon as you remove the trays from the oven. Allow to cool completely on trays.
19 Responses to “Apricot Granola”

  1. oh, my weakness is the chocolate granola over at orangette. talk about addicting!

  2. 2 Z

    HOW.GOOD.IS.IT!

  3. Amanda – Oh my god. Chocolate granola!! I am so making it next week.

    Z – It. Is. Bloody. Great.

  4. oh! Just the other day I gave in and bought some raw muesli when really I was dreaming of homemade granola (I remember a reading a few posts about it here and there). This one looks divine, thanks!

  5. Looks great and love the clumpy granola tip – chunky’s what I love but never thought about how to make clumps like that.

    And I totally agree, Amanda, that chocolate granola is sooo good!

  6. I.LOVE.GRANOLA.

    I even love looking at it! That photo is so delicious. My mother makes such a great granola I have never made my own batch because it is one of the things I most look forward to when visiting her. This one of yours looks and sounds very different though so I kay just have to give it a go… infact I can’t wait!!

  7. I love the idea of adding apricots to granola. YUM!

  8. As an avide hiker I love granola, this one looks very energizing.

  9. 9 Dana

    I just made Nigella’s granola this past weekend! I’ll have to bookmark this and give this recipe a try as well :).

  10. 10 mysweetestday

    i’m not a huge fan of apricots but i bet these would be great with dried apples!

  11. Apricot granola sounds good!

  12. Amazing photography. Love it. Love granola too…

  13. Yay! This is how I make it also. Most people bake the fruit, but I don’t because it gets too hard. You are a genius like me. I made a danish pastry with apricots and almond cream and the two go really well together. The photo is beautiful.

  14. I like that it’s not too sweet as well. That makes it ideal for breakfast with some soy milk. Your picture is really lovely.

  15. 15 Eugene

    I am seaching for some idea to write in my blog… somehow come to your blog. best of luck. Eugene

  16. This recipe sounds gorgeous, thanks for sharing!! :-)

  17. 17 Darlene

    This looks great. How long do you find it keeps?

  18. Hi Darlene,

    I find it keeps about two weeks :)

  19. 19 Emma

    OMG…just made it and it is still cooling…it is so good! My partner and I are eating it off the trays! Cheers :)


Leave a Reply

