Churros with Dulce de Leche Sauce

21Nov08

churros4

The blog has been on hiatus for the past month not due to the usual reasons of laziness or lack of inspiration. I have the most boring excuse of all to give you: I am on a diet :(

I have been on this health kick for about a month now, trying to have a better diet and increasing my physical activity (if you live in Melbourne and ever in need of a laugh, you can witness me trying to “run” along the Hume Highway almost each day. Or come to my local gym and watch me flail my arms and legs in a Body Combat class. It’s hilarious.). It hasn’t been too bad to be honest, though. I have been eating less processed and fried foods, increased my fruit and vegetable intake and I have drastically limited my consumption of desserts and sweet treats!

churros3

After limiting my sweet tooth for over three weeks now, I thought it was about time a real treat was in order. My mind went into overdrive as the possibilities to break my “sugar drought” were endless. Triple chocolate ice-cream sundae with fudgy chocolate sauce? A big custardy trifle with lashings of cream? A warm bowl of banana butterscotch pudding with rich vanilla ice-cream? I could have it all and had much difficulty in deciding!

As I flicked through my online recipe archive with the many “must try” bookmarked pages, one ridiculously easy recipe just sang to me… churros with dulce de leche sauce. How can one go wrong with some deep-fried goodness dipped in caramel?!

Just make these little crispy suckers. You can thank me later.

Churros with Dulce de Leche Sauce

Adapted from a recipe by the Bodega Tapas boys found in Gourmet Traveller, October 2007.

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cups plain flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

vegetable oil, for deep frying

mixed ground cinnamon and caster sugar, for dusting

Dulce de leche sauce

400g can of condensed milk

60ml of milk, warmed

  1. For the sauce,  place unopened can of condensed milk into a large saucepan and cover completely with water. Bring to the simmer over medium heat and cook for 2 hours, adding more water if necessary to keep can covered. Cool completely in water (do not remove can while still warm as it may explode), then open and remove dulce de leche. Combine dulce de leche with milk in a bowl and stir until smooth. Set aside in a warm place until required.
  2. For the churros, combine oil, 600ml water and salt in a large saucepan and bring to the boil over medium-high heat. Gradually add flour and baking powder, stirring continuously with a wooden spoon until dough is smooth.
  3. Heat the vegetable oil in a large saucepan to 165°C. Spoon the batter into a piping bag with a 1-centimetre star nozzle. Carefully pipe 10cm lengths into the oil, cutting the churro from the bag with scissors, being careful as the hot oil may splash (if this is too fiddly, pipe the batter into a slotted spoon first, then lower into the hot oil). Fry until golden brown. Drain on paper towel and toss in the cinnamon sugar mixture until well combined.
  4. Serve warm or cold with the sauce. Don’t forget to lick your fingers :)

* The plate used in this post was kindly given to me as a farewell gift by the boys at work. Thank you Gareth, Pete and John. This post is for you! :)

23 Responses to “Churros with Dulce de Leche Sauce”

  1. Ohhhh this looks so good! I love churros so much. And the gooey dulce de leche in the photo is amazing. I started my health kick about 3 days ago. So far so good, but I think I’ll only last another 24 hours or so before I need some chocolate :)

  2. Delicious and beautiful.
    Love the sauce. I would surely not forget tolivk my fingers.

  3. More power to you – well deserved treat! I remember one of my attempts to take a step class at a local gym. Those things are insane. I looked like a deranged energizer bunny – all the other women had some mysterious inner rhythm going on. Gah.

  4. Looks delicious! Anything with dulce de leche is delicious, in my books!

  5. Those look delicious – I can’t think of a better way to celebrate the comeback of sugar in your life! I understand what you mean about posting less when you try to eat better… That’s why I often have more savory than glorious baking on my blog. But we can do it all in moderation, right?

  6. Lucky Yummy…

    I sure can go for some right now! Yummo!!!

  7. your churros look perfect, and i can’t think of a better way to eat them than with dulce de leche. heck, i can’t think of a better way to eat anything than with dulce de leche. :)

  8. 8 Carly

    I would love to make these,
    Do you think they would still be good the next day?

  9. Now you know how to have a coming out party.

  10. Cheers everyone!

    Carly – I don’t think they would be very nice the next day. I think it’s best if you consume them on the same day you make them :)

  11. I remember seeing this recipe in gourmet traveler! But your pictures look WAY better. I wanted to make these spanish treats, but got freaked out at the thought of exploding sugar. I might tempt injury and make these myself.

    Good luck with the health kick, just remember its not a diet, it a new way of living.

    GREAT blog by the way.

  12. Not sure about the dulce de leche but churros are just about my favorite treat. So hard to find and make but I’ll give it a shot.

  13. 13 Sil BsAs

    It’s very common to find churros stuffed with dulce de leche here in Argentina since we put dulce de leche on or inside everything!
    Oh diets… God knows how I hate them!

  14. Simply gorgeous looking.

  15. 15 Diana

    I’ve been hunting for a churro recipe I will have to try this they look so good.

    A safer suggestion for the Dulce de Leche that I use is to bake the condensed milk. Pour the condensed milk in a small pan like a pie plate cover with foil, place that in a larger pan. Pour some boiling water halfway up the pan and bake at 350 degrees for about an hour until its a caramel color. No scary exploding can to deal with.

  16. 16 Maris

    Love it! These would be a wonderful dessert to pair with Mexican food for dinner.

  17. Brilliant posting and good food! Congratulations!!!

  18. Wow, these look amazing. I have added to my must try list, hopefully I will find the time sooner rather than later.
    Thanks!

  19. 19 Aylin

    THESE LOOK AMAZING LINDA…..

  20. just tried your recipe- it wasn’t a rich caramel colour. I suggest to anyone who does make it to leave it in for 4-5hours…it really does become a delicious nutty brown caramel!

  21. i will be making these tomorrow! do you mind if i post my experience making these on my blog? i will for sure link to your page!


Leave a Reply

