Passionfruit Marshmallows

30Dec08

passionfruit-marshmallow5

Last month, my full-time job was made redundant (thanks global financial crisis!) and being unemployed for five weeks prior to Christmas has made it tough in the money stakes, but luckily Mr. VISA has since come to my rescue.  For the last fortnight, I have been ringing up the credit, running around like a headless chicken and narrowly avoiding car bingles as I fought with the million other shoppers for a parking space, to buy presents for family, presents for friends, presents for my boyfriend (whoo, Guitar Hero World Tour!), presents for several Kris Kringles and finally, to keep myself sane, a small present or two for me (a pretty scarf and a Moleskine diary). Phew!

Money troubles aside, I do love the festive season as I get to spend time with my family and friends, enjoy summer at it’s best and in true Australian tradition, I love to eat the copious amounts of food at the numerous BBQs which frequent my December calendar. There’s nothing that says Christmas more to me than a few burnt sausages, a juicy slice of watermelon for dessert and a suntan from sitting outside eating all day.

Although unemployed and having lots of “spare” time up my sleeve,  I have been rather slack in the baking department and I didn’t do any Christmas baking this year. No gingerbread house/men, no shortbread, no sweets. Although a blessing in disguise for everyone’s waistlines and arteries, I still feel a little guilty. So today, on New Year’s Eve Eve, I made a big batch of passionfruit marshmallows to share with my family and friends who missed out on the usual goodies that I make. These marshmallows are the most fluffiest, softest and tastiest morsels of sweetness they will ever encounter so hopefully all is forgiven!

Hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas and here’s to a Happy New Year! :)

Passionfruit Marshmallows

Recipe by pastry chef Catherine Adams of Rockpool found in the December 2007 edition of Gourmet Traveller.

180ml passionfruit juice (you’ll need around 10 passionfruit)

500g caster sugar

20g powdered gelatine

2 eggwhites

snow sugar, for dusting (Snow sugar is icing sugar with vegetable fat, cornflour and dextrose added to prevent the sugar from absorbing moisture and dissolving. Icing sugar/confectioner’s sugar is a suitable substitute if you can’t obtain snow sugar)

  1. Lightly grease and line a 17cm x 25cm shallow cake pan an dust base liberally with snow sugar. Combine passionfruit juice with gelatine in a bowl and set aside.
  2. Combine caster sugar and 1 cup water in a saucepan and coojk over low heat, stirring, until sugar dissolves, then increaseheat to medium and cook for 5-10 minutes or until syrup reaches 125C on a sugar thermometer. Remove from heat, add passionfruit mixture to syrup and stir until gelatine dissolves. Meanwhile, using an electric mixer, whisk eggwhites and a pinch of salt until frothy. Gradually add passionfruit mixture, whisking continuously on medium speed until mixture has doubled in size, then slowly decrease speed and mix until mixture is warm (about 40C). Pour into prepared cake pan, and using a lightly oiled spatula, spread evenly, then dust top liberally with snow sugar. Stand at room temperature for 3 hours or until firm. Using a sharp, serrated knife dusted with snow sugar, cut marshmallow into squares and roll in snow sugar to coat.

Store in an airtight container between sheets of baking paper at room temperature for up to two weeks.

20 Responses to “Passionfruit Marshmallows”

  1. Oh, they must taste wonderful! Very pretty!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. 2 Y

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you! Sorry to hear about your job. Here’s to hoping 2009 holds bigger and even better things for you!

  3. love the creativity here

  4. Happy New Year – let’s hope next year holds a great new job for you! But what a lovely passionfruit item to end the year with! Beautiful.

  5. Sorry about your job loss. I hope 2009 will bring you many wonderful blessings. I didn’t know marshmallows were so simple to make. And passionfruit sounds fantastic! Happy New Year!

  6. Hi there

    I recently found your blog and I am loving it. Sorry for your job loss, hopefully things will get better in 09. Passionfruit is a great taste and we use it a lot in Brazil. Those must be nice…
    PS- I also got my husband Guitar Hero WT…. I think the songs are better than the previous one, or maybe I was just too tired of listening to them again and again…

  7. Sounds fantastic!

  8. 8 jo

    this recipe looks delicious and i hope nice things come your way with 2009. all my best.

  9. How beautiful. My adventures in marshmallows have only been the typical vanilla, chocolate, and peppermint. Passionfruit? Count me in. And it’s definitely weird to hear about Christmas being a time to have BBQs and get a tan. It’s 25 degrees at my house, and I’m quite pale and enjoying all of my meals indoors.

  10. Happy New Year Linda! Your marshmallows look totally dreamy! I hope 2009 brings lots of great and happy things for you… including a new and awesome job that you love!

  11. Happy New Year!

  12. I love passionfruit, and this is a wonderful, creative way to use it!

  13. This global financial crisis is slowly starting to affect us here in Oz. I hope this year brings some more luck than how last year ended for you.

    These marshmallows look great, I must try them.

    I also bought Guitar Heroes World Tour for Christmas. It’s so much fun playing with friends.

  14. Thank you all for your lovely HYN comments!

    Rita and Thanh – GHWT absolutely rocks! I love it!

  15. I was only at RB&G last month devouring these for dessert wishing I had the recipe and now I do! Yours look amazing and I’m sure they taste as good as they look. My last attempt at marshmallow was rather dismal but will have to give these a go :-)

  16. 16 Suzie

    Good luck for job hunt, hope you will get a better job so soon.

  17. Those look soo good. I love passionfruit and marshmallow, what a great combination, thanks for sharing the recipe – this is now on my list of things to make.

  18. Hi there~! I discovered your site through googling for passionfruity things, and I have to say, these are gorgeous! and they turned out lovely when I made them today too! I am staring at them all nice and cut up and dusted now, but alas, I have to take them into work tomorrow for Head Chef’s birthday D:

    I shall definatly trying more recipes~! The Hummingbird cake sounds delightful x3 Specially since my birthday is Monday week!

  19. Oh thanks so much for that recipe ivI’e been raving about these marshmallows since my last meal at RB&G and after reading your blog, found the recipe in Gourmet Traveller. I knew i had these stacks of magazines cluttering the house for some reason!

    I love all the SMALL Rockpool and Rockpool Bar & Grill (Sydney and Melbourne) desserts. A night out isn’t complete without dessert but the rest of the food is just so good, you cant fit in a lot.

    I had an amuse bouche style dessert offered one night in Melbourne. A cup full of candied popcorn. Can’t remember precisely but it was SO…good. Other mini highlights are their chocolate slabs (OMG), and a simple mango cupcake.

    Good luck with the travel. Just do it. There’s always a reason not to go.


  1. 1 Raspberry Marshmallows - butter sugar flour

Leave a Reply

