Coconut Macaroons with Raspberry Jam

29Jan09

macaroons

As I sit here and write this post at 2.55pm, the mercury has risen to 43.3°C (110°F for all you Farenheit lovers out there) with the sun fiercely burning down and melting all residing in Melbourne. It is disgustingly hot, too hot even for the beach for an ocean dip and there is nothing left to do but to stay indoors and keep close to my new best friend, the air-conditioner.

I have been lounging around all day, feeling rather lethargic and lazy, but with that said, I had enough energy to turn the oven on and bake something to try keep my mind off the stifling heat. I didn’t want to make something too difficult, nor a recipe that involved numerous bowls and utensils as I really couldn’t be arsed with all the washing up in the heat. So one bowl macaroons it was.

This recipe is ridiculously easy. It’s basically a meringue-type base with coconut and almond meal mixed through, then shaped into small balls and baked. Once cooled, I like to sandwich them with raspberry jam, but they are still quite delicious eaten plain.

Coconut Macaroons with Raspberry Jam

Adapted from a recipe by Karen Martini found in Sunday Life.

2 large eggwhites

¼ teaspoon cream of tartar

100g caster sugar

50g ground almonds

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

200g shredded coconut (must be shredded; desiccated coconut will not work)

4 tablespoons raspberry jam

icing sugar, to dust

  1. Preheat oven to 150°C. Line two baking trays with non-stick baking paper (saves washing!).
  2. Beat eggwhites with an electric mixer until frothy. Add the cream of tartar and gradually add the sugar, beating continuously until mixture is thick and glossy. Fold in almond meal, salt and vanilla. Fold in the coconut.
  3. Spoon walnut-sized dollops of mixture onto the prepared baking trays. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until pale golden and cooked. Remove from the oven and allow to cool. Once cooled, sandwich together with raspberry jam and dust with icing sugar.

Makes around 24 macaroons; 12 sandwiched together.

Wash-up count: one bowl, the beaters, one spoon and a spatula :)

29 Responses to “Coconut Macaroons with Raspberry Jam”

  1. Those macaroons look delicious! I was watching the Australian Open yesterday and couldn’t believe that the temperatures on the tennis court reached 140 degrees Farenheit! I’m wishing you lots of nice breezes!

  2. They look so pretty and delicious! A winning combination!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. That looks so yummy…and simple to make too :) Hope the weather gets cooler there (I have a cousin in Melbourne and he is going bananas)!

  4. My goodness, is it hot in there or what? We’re in the middle of summer here, too, but have been having lots of rainy days. :(
    Your macaroons look so lovely and I love the idea of having them with something tart like raspberry jam.

  5. Those are so cute and beautiful.

  6. 6 limeandlemon

    This looks very delicious .. just one question . is the coconut sweetened or not … cuz over here i can only get unsweetened one .. :-) .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  7. I am currently freezing my ass off. It’s too cold to move. To say I am jealous of your summer weather is a HUGE understatement.

  8. I would take +40 degrees compared to the -40 degrees we have here any day!!

    :) macaroons look great!

  9. Elyse – I have been watching every single match on TV of the Australian Open and I feel so sorry for everyone on court. The players seem to drip with sweat and the ball kids are sweating it out there too. Poor buggers.

    Rosa and Tracy – thank you!

    Joey – everyone is going bananas. You just can’t think in this heat.

    Patricia – it is so very hot and everyone, including myself, is over it. The macaroons are good with blackberry jam too I have discovered :)

    Laila – I am not sure if I used a sweetened or unsweetened coconut. I think it is unsweetened to be honest. The macaroons aren’t that sweet. Hope that helps.

    Amanda – You are freezing your ass off; I am burning my ass off here! It may sound much better than a freezing cold winter, but my god it’s awful.

    Dani – I would prefer 40 degrees over -40 degrees too, but it’s just unbearable!

  10. oh those are fabulous. you must have great air-conditioning to be able to make those stay in one piece! how about we swap places for a bit – it’s 3 degrees F here right now. i could go for some 100+, sunny weather!!

    cheers,

    *heather*
    http://squirrelbread.wordpress.com

  11. Hi Linda! This is my first visit to your blog. Just wanted to say hi and to let you know I look forward to enjoying your posts and recipes :)

  12. Hey, I didn’t know that Melbourne is even hotter than Sydney – aren’t you supposedly closer to Antarctica..;-) Chapeau that you still managed to turn out these beauties!

  13. I dislike coconut immensely, but I have to say theses macaroons are just adorable to look at and so pretty with the red jam sandwiched inbetween. I hope you get a break from the intense heat soon!

  14. i love love love coconut. these look so dream linda! hope it’s cooled off some!

  15. adorable! too cute to eat, but I’m sure I’d change my mind..

  16. these look perfect, so dainty and sweet…and I have sooo many egg whites in my freezer because of all the ice cream I’ve been making lately! How insane is the weather lately? It’s gonna be 44 here in Sydney today!

  17. First of all, you turned on the oven in over 40 degree heat? wow, your my type of foodie…determined! Secondly, I cant stop drooling, those look great, and the dripping jam make sthem look so much more delicious!

  18. Those are beautiful. I am excited to try them.

  19. Those look so delicious. I can’t think of anything better than coconut and raspberry!

  20. these are fantastic! Love the pic!

  21. 21 anne

    they look so delicious!

  22. These look amazing! I’ll add them to my list of things to make soon!

  23. What a gorgeous photo!

  24. 24 Sneh

    Awesome shot! Those look absolutely beautiful!

  25. these look so cute!

  26. I LOVE macaroons!!!!! This is great!!

  27. Ohh, love the jam and macaroon combo, they look great.

  28. Oh yum, these just look so yummy. All I need is a mug of tea and a few of these and I’d be in heaven!

  29. OMG!!!! these have to be the most cutest cookies I’ve ever seen!! I love them.


Leave a Reply

