Date and Banana Pudding with Butterscotch Sauce

26Apr09

sticky-date-pudding-1

I love autumn and it’s my most favourite season of the year. The days are mild and sunny with lovely clear blue skies and crisp, gentle breezes. The night always seems to catch up on us unawares and I love how the deciduous trees’ leaves begin to change into pretty shades of red, yellow and orange and fall in preparation for the winter. It’s fresh, invigorating and there’s a sense of renewal in the air…

It’s not even May yet, but it seems that those lovely autumn days are over and the transition into winter has arrived in Melbourne rather early. The wind is gusty, biting cold and always seems to whack you in the face when outdoors, the rain seems heavier and louder and the chilly weather just makes you want to stay in bed all weekend, cuddling a loved one watching DVDs or burying your nose in a good book. Fashion drastically changes too, with scarves, tights and knee-high boots dug out from the back of the wardrobe to keep us cozy and warm. This kind of weather also marks the start of heavy homely comfort food like soups, stews and delicious rich desserts like this date and banana pudding with butterscotch sauce.

Sticky date pudding is a real winter favourite here in Australia. It’s a moist, muffin-like pudding with dates and the usual suspects of of butter, sugar, flour and eggs. Once cooked, they are doused in a good helping of butterscotch sauce and a dollop of thick cream or vanilla ice-cream alongside. I decided to make a variation of this dessert with the addition of bananas and a few chopped pecans sprinkled on the top for some crunch.

Date and Banana Pudding with Butterscotch Sauce

180g dried dates, pitted and chopped

1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

75g butter, softened

150g brown sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

2 eggs

180g self-raising flour

2 medium ripe bananas

3 tablespoons of pecans, chopped

thick cream or vanilla ice-cream, to serve

Butterscotch Sauce

200ml cream

½ cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

50g butter, chopped

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease and line 8 holes of two 6-hole Texas muffin pan and set aside.
  2. Place dates in a saucepan with 180ml of water. Bring to the boil, remove from heat and add the bicarbonate of soda. Set aside for 10 minutes to cool.
  3. Cream butter and sugar in large bowl using an electric mixer or food mixer. Add vanilla and add the eggs one at a time, ensuring it is well incorporated.
  4. Add date mixture and bananas. Fold through the flour and divide amongst prepared tins.
  5. Bake for around 25-30 or until cooked through and tested with a skewer/knife.
  6. For the sauce, add all ingredients into a small saucepan. Stir over moderate heat until butter is melted and everything comes together. Allow to cool slightly before using.
  7. To serve, invert a pudding onto a plate, whack on a big dollop of cream or ice-cream and douse the pudding in the sauce. Sprinkle the pecan nuts on top. Ta-dah!
17 Responses to “Date and Banana Pudding with Butterscotch Sauce”

  1. 1 Rosa

    What a lovely pudding! Scrumptious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Hi Linda, Autumn is my favourite time of year too. I live in a leafy suburb and all the leaves are turning orange now, so pretty! And yep the cold, windy weather today made me want chocolate pudding for dessert tonight (I didn’t make it though, no ice-cream to go on it and too cold to go out and get it!).

    This recipe sounds great, just one question though, what’s a “Texas” muffin pan?

  3. The idea of sticky date pudding covered with ice cream makes me swoon but now I am stuck in Spring! And the crunch of bikini season is upon us :( But come fall, I am all up on this stuff…

  4. 4 dawn

    Oh yes, I would love to try these in my jumbo pan. Love love love all these flavors mixed.

  5. MildlyCrafty – a Texas muffin pan is one of those jumbo ones, with around a 1 cup capacity.

    Amanda – eww bikini season. Not my fave at all :(

  6. Mmm, this pudding looks incredible! Here, in America, the temperatures are getting WAY too hot. I’m jealous of your luxurious fall weather. I’m also jealous of this amazing pudding cake. How totally delicious!

  7. Oh my gosh, my bf would die if he saw this. He’s Scottish and loovveess sticky toffee pudding. I guess I should make him some, huh?

  8. i was in melbourne last year at this time and the weather was gorgeous.

  9. I think after a long summer I welcome autumn too! I’m on the other hemisphere though and so desperately waiting for a real hot summer! Whatever the season this pudding looks so delicious!

  10. 10 Alison

    I made these a couple of days after you posted the recipe and talk about yum!!!! I misread the recipe and made 12 instead of 8 but they were still big enough to be a decent serve. I shared them with a good friend, my brother and his family and my neighbours and they all asked for the recipe.

    BTW I froze some and reheated them in the microwave – they were almost as good as new. I kept the sauce in a jar in the fridge and reheated it gently. So this is also a fabulous make-in-advance dessert.

    I love your blog, thank you for sharing such lovely photos and yummy recipes. Keep up the good work when you are able, and good luck for juggling study and work – that’s a tough gig.

  11. this looks amazing…i’ll have to give it a try!

  12. 12 eloise

    Linda,

    I too agree Autumn is a beautiful time of year, the change of season brings so much more fruit and taste to the table. I love dates and even more so sticky date, this pudding sounds amazing. well done on return ;)

  13. 13 andi

    That looks yummy! I didn’t get to try the famous sticky date pudding while I was in Australia but perhaps I can make it myself :) Cute blog. I actually came across your blog once before when I googled “mango tart” and your lovely recipe came up first! And I did end up baking one for Easter Sunday :) So thanks!

  14. 14 Emma

    I am going to attempt this pudding today for a freinds dinner party tonight…I came across your blog this morning searching for banana pudding and will definitely be back!
    :)

  15. 15 Emma

    Ok the puds were delicious…everyone raved about them…this recipe is a keeper.

  16. 16 Emma

    Made these again yesterday…yes my name is Emma and I’m a bake-aholic. This time I made them into 12 not-so-small muffins. The size is quite a nice portion for after dinner dessert. I also put in 1 cup of brown sugar to the sauce to make it more caramel as opposed to butterscotch. Totally lusharamo!


  1. 1 Banana Cream Tart « Slow Like Honey

Leave a Reply

