Cardamom Pistachio Kulfi

06Jun09

Kulfi

Oh, gluttony is a sin I always seem to indulge in quite willingly and when it comes to Indian food, boy, do I indulge! My boyfriend and I eat Indian food quite often and we’re lucky that there are many great (and cheap!) Indian restaurants in Melbourne. It’s almost become a tradition to over-order and eat way too much. There’s just so many great dishes to try. Our favourites are lamb vindaloo, chicken makhani,  garlic naan, pappadums, raita, chutneys… I could go on and on!

At the end of every Indian dinner we have, Z likes to finish off with kulfi, a really sweet iced dessert made with milk and usually flavoured with spices, nuts or fruit. It’s similar to ice-cream, but is quite dense and solid as opposed to the airy, light texture of ice-cream. It’s the perfect sweet treat to finish off a rich and spicy meal.

So, last night, I decided to try and make kulfi myself and after perusing a few recipes online, I think I have come up with a pretty good version. Try it for yourself. It’s delicious!

Cardamom Pistachio Kulfi

2 cups full cream milk

¾ cup sugar

10 cardamom pods, crushed

½ cup pistachios, chopped

extra pistachios, to sprinkle

  1. In a large heavy-based saucepan, boil the milk and sugar until the volume is reduced to a third. It should smell very sweet and be quite thick.
  2. Remove from the heat, add the cardamom (shells and all). Allow to cool to room temperature.
  3. Strain the mixture, then add the pistachios. Divide the mixture into individual ramekins, cover with plastic wrap and freeze overnight.
  4. To serve, dip the ramekins into hot water for 20 seonds or so, invert onto a plate and sprinkle with extra nuts.

Makes 4 to 6, depending on the size of the ramekin.

15 Responses to “Cardamom Pistachio Kulfi”

  1. I just LOVE pistachio kulfi !

  2. Kulfi is one of my favourite indian desserts and this one looks so so yumm.

  3. 3 Rosa

    A fantastic dessert! Refined and delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. 4 Amanda

    I agree, Indian food is the best. The raita is my favorite. I could also plates and plates of Moroccan food. Endless baba ghanouj and curry? Yes please :)

  5. 5 Amanda

    Now I am totally craving hummus and pita bread!! too bad a whole freaking ocean separates us! We’ll have to visit each other sometime soon, and have a huge bloggers feast…

  6. great blog here…i used to live in melbourne too…love all ur wonderful recipes n foodie pix though i dun’t bake/cook! haha..just luv looking and reading them:-)

  7. 7 bakingepiphanies

    my mom used to make kulfi when i was growing up and like a typical brat i refused to eat it because it wasn’t “cool” like american ice cream. sigh – the follies of youth. this looks delicious and i’m sure my mom would approve! love your blog by the way, the pics are out of this world.

  8. Woooooooooooooooooooooooow….delectable treat…….

  9. your blog is beautiful!

  10. 10 Melissa

    My goodness this looks delicious :D

  11. Mmmm kulfi sounds yummy!

  12. i know what you mean – it’s so easy to overeat when eating indian. i find i forget that whilst the dishes are small, they’re actually very filling!
    anyway, this pistachio kulfi looks great and it doesn’t look too hard to make

  13. 13 themoreiseekyou

    Have you tried Ah poms? It’s a sweet type of indian pancake like thing that’s crispy around the edges and has a soft moist centre (at least the good ones do). if you’re up for the savoury kind they there’s cheese ah poms which are yummy too! I can eat like 5 or more at a meal!

  14. 14 Sha

    I’m in love with this recipe! Need to find space in my freezer ^^


Leave a Reply

