Raspberry Ice-Cream

01Aug09

Raspberry Ice-Cream

Dear Summer,

I really, really miss you. Melbourne is now well and truly into it’s winter season and boy, am I already over it. I know I shouldn’t complain since Winter is pretty bearable, but I want you here NOW! You’re only five months away, but it seems like way too long to wait for some warmth and energy. I am eagerly anticipating your arrival like a little kid awaits Santa come December.

I am not as content as I can be in this current season, with the short days and chilly winds of July kind of  getting me down. I hate waking up with no sunlight streaming through my window, I hate leaving work at 5.30pm to drive home in complete darkness and although I do love my winter scarf collection very much, I really just want to throw on a pair of shorts and have my flip-flops permanently stuck to my feet. I want to be at the park at yet another BBQ, eating yet another burnt sausage in plasticky white bread and downing a beer or two. I want to go indulge myself in the gorgeous fruits of the season: peaches, apricots, nectarines, mangoes, cherries, strawberries, melons, plums… oh I could go on and on.

I do admit, sometimes you can get on my nerves. It sometimes gets so hot, it gets so sticky, so exasperatingly unbearable with the sun burning down so fiercely that I then wish for you to go away, but I do want you here.  I love the sunshine. I love the longer, leisurely days. I love the happiness you bring.

I made this batch of raspberry ice-cream to remind me of what you’re all about. Endless days, warm nights and good times with great friends. I miss that.

Come back soon.

With love,

Linda xox

Raspberry Ice-Cream

Recipe from David Lebovitz’s ‘The Perfect Scoop’, probably one of the best ever ice-cream books I have ever read/used.

1½ cups (375ml) of half-and-half (this isn’t available in Australia, so I substituted 1 cup for milk and ½ cup cream)

1 cup (200g) caster sugar

1½ cups (375ml) heavy cream

4 large egg yolks

1½ cups (375ml) strained raspberry puree (I used frozen ones)

1 tablespoon lemon juice

  1. Warm the half-and-half (or alternative) and sugar in a medium saucepan. Pour the cream into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer over the top.
  2. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm milk into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.
  3. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula. Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream. Mix in the raspberry puree and lemon juice, then stir until cool over an ice bath.
  4. Chill thoroughly in the refrigerator, but to preserve the fresh raspberry taste, churn the ice cream within 4 hours after making the mixture.
17 Responses to “Raspberry Ice-Cream”

  1. Sending you some summer warmth from the States! And I’m with you on your love for The Perfect Scoop. I’ve been working my way through it this summer. Have you tried his Orange-Cardamom or Guiness-Milk Chocolate ice creams? They are fabulous!

  2. Looks fantastic Linda! That picture is so simple and so classy! I am almost at the point of licking the screen!

  3. 3 Rosa

    That ice cream looks fantastic! I love that shot…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Your blog and photos are great!

    I didn’t really realize ice cream was this easy by hand.

  5. That looks delicious! Yummy click..

  6. 6 buttersugarflour

    Allison – I have been meaning to try the orange/cardamom one for a while. It’s one of my favourite flavour combos!

    Helen – Wow, what a compliment from the master herself :) Thanks!

    Rosa, Ramya – Thank you!

    Chris – welcome to the blog! Ice-cream is dead simple and having an ice-cream maker makes it even easier.

  7. 7 Liz

    I hear you! Auckland is cold and grey too. I’ve had at least three friends say that they’re over the season in the last week. Liz

  8. 8 Anh

    The photo is stunning! Like you I am waiting for summer to return. but eating ice-cream in winter is a plasure as well!

  9. 9 bree bree

    I’m sitting on the tram…in the dark…wet from the rain…swallowing the golfball in my throat fighting off the other wonderful winter flu symptoms…wishing it was summer! Now! Linny please make me some ice-cream….coz I bet u a million dollars u ate that batch in one day! X

  10. Linda if today was any indication, I think it’s safe to say that Spring is just around the corner!

  11. Looks great! And a DL recipe too! Must taste amazing too! Cant wait to try this with other fruits – no raspberries here!

  12. I love this shot! And I love your blog!
    … Just stumbled across it! Great stuff!

  13. Linda this is such a lovely looking ice cream and i just love the shot. elegant and great color tones!

  14. i love this photos… summer is winding down here now. not happy about that.

  15. Wow, I really miss summer, too. And that photo is just glorious. I just churned some vanilla ice cream, but I think it’s time to try my hand at this one.

  16. Just made this today. YUM!

    The photo here is just perfect, by the way.


  1. 1 Raspberry Ice Cream « Foodshots

Leave a Reply

