Zucchini Spice Loaf

20Sep09

Yeah, I know what you’re thinking: “zucchini in cake?!” You’re  probably used to sweet baked goods made with chocolate or fruit, but using vegetables in cakes isn’t as odd as it would seem. There are so many different sweet recipes out there that use all kinds of vegetables; think traditional favourites of pumpkin pie and carrot cake, and more unusual recipes like chocolate beetroot cake or spinach brownies! After being in a bit of a baking  funk, I wanted to make something that was not only delicious but also something a little different. I thought about making Jessica Seinfeld‘s recipe for brownies with spinach, but I wasn’t in the mood for something chocolatey. After searching through my very disorganised folder of online recipes I’ve bookmarked, I came across this recipe and knew it was the one to make.

Zucchini Cake1

It’s very similar to a carrot cake, only with grated zucchini and different spices instead. It is a very simple recipe and takes hardly anytime to prepare at all.  I didn’t follow the recipe as printed (I’m such a rebel!) and used walnuts instead of pistachios and added cinnamon and cloves to the mix. I’m quite time poor these days, so I didn’t even bother with the frosting and it’s a one-bowl recipe which means less time washing up and more time eating!

Zucchini Spice Loaf

Adapted from recipe found in Delicious magazine, February 2007 here.

3/4 cup (185ml) sunflower oil

1 cup (220g) caster sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup (75g) walnuts, finely chopped

1/2 cup (60g) almond meal

2 cups grated zucchini (about 2 big ones)

1 teaspoon ground cardamom

1/2 teaspoon ground mixed spice

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

dash of ground cloves

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 1/2 cups (225g) self-raising flour

1/2 cup (75g) plain flour

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a loaf tin and line base and sides with baking paper.
  2. Using a whisk, combine the oil, sugar, eggs and vanilla until thick. Stir in chopped nuts, meal, zucchini and spices. Sift over baking soda and flours, and stir to combine. Pour into pan and bake for 60 minutes or until a skewer inserted in centre comes out clean. Cool in pan for 20 minutes, then turn onto a wire rack and cool completely.
14 Responses to “Zucchini Spice Loaf”

  1. Yum! Am abroad studying at the moment – relishing in any chance to cook, this looks like a definite oven candidate!

    Great website, sooo many delicious recipes :-)

  2. I am going to have to try out this recipe! Just received some zucchinis that I wasn’t sure what to do with!

  3. That bread looks really good!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Zucchini bread is so common in the US, but no one else seems to have ever heard of it. I live in Ireland now and people are a little horrified when I tell them I make a great chocolate zucchini cake, but it’s actually one of the best chocolate cakes in my repertoire.

  5. Yum! Fantastic recipe, I’ve tried something similar years ago, and loved it. The only thing is, don’t keep it for longer than, say, a week, because the zucchini will go off :s

  6. Uh, this sounds very good. I once made zuchini-carrot-brownies with a lot of spices like nutmeg and cinnamon and more too, so I know that this will taste equally good!

  7. True, it’s common in the US. Perhaps you can help it catch on with the rest of the world. Yours looks delectable.

  8. Interesting recipe! :)

  9. Zucchini also works wonder in quick bread with chocolate. So that’s no surprise it’s good by itself and spices. Thank you for the twist :)

  10. I’ve recently seen SO many recipes featuring zucchini and I love it! this is an amazing idea for host gifts for the holiday season! can’t wait to make this.

  11. 11 Jood

    I have been hesitating to do anything to zucchini but steam and eat them solo but your recipe seems to have turned out really well. It sounds very much like a carrot kind of cake with all the spices and while I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE carrot cake, I am a bit bored of making it all the time.

    I’ve been living abroad for a number of years now and have just discovered your blog.

    I love it and makes me think so much of home. I get so homesick when you bake anything Australian. I am going to make those Lamingtons and, given the abundance of fresh coconuts in my current part of the world, it would be a crying shame not to make my own. I haven’t had one for at least ten years! I need to make myself some sausage rolls too. How I miss them! I found myself craving a finger bun too after reading your lamington entry.

    Anyway, your food photography is great too – not in the least bit lame – you are too modest! Very clean, simple and ‘Marie Claire’. I hope you don’t mind me asking what camera and lens you use. Unfortunately, my baking and photography isn’t good enough to record for posterity but I can appreciate the work of artists like yourself.

    I’ll be visiting often. Cheers!

  12. love your blog ^^! XOXO

  13. Great recipe, thank you! We always end up with a glut of zucchini in summer and I never think to bake with them. I wonder if I could do a zucchini cupcake (doesn’t really sound appetizing does it?)

  14. 14 Jood

    Thanks so much for the camera and lens info. I’m an amateur at everything so every bit of info helps. You’re a saint!
    I don’t think I would have the chance to photograph my baking unless it was to submit to cakewrecks.com
    I did get around to making this recipe but I seriously botched it. It was quite soggy but it tasted alright. Am I supposed to wring out the liquid from the zucchini before mixing it in? I ended up having to slice it up and re-bake it like biscotti just to ‘dry’ it out.
    Back to the drawing board for me…


Leave a Reply

