Ginger Biscuits with Lemon Icing

08Mar08

ginger4.jpg

Why am I such a complete and total scatterbrain? Three days ago I left my wallet on the train. Yep, I lost my wallet, with all my cards, cash, gift vouchers and a few other bits and pieces.

Let me tell you what happened and you will see why I’m such an idiot…

After my Spanish class in the city on Tuesday, I was running rather late for the train. As I was sprinting to the station, I pulled my wallet out of my handbag, quickly whipped out my ticket, popped it in the ticket machine and kept running towards the train. I made it just as the doors were about to close and I plonked myself on a double-seater in the corner of the train carriage. At this stage, I had my handbag over my shoulder, my wallet in one hand and my books cradled under the opposite arm. Absolutely puffed, I threw my bag onto the adjacent seat and threw the wallet on top. I sat down, opened up my workbook for revision and after twenty minutes of being totally engrossed and half confused with irregular verbs, I picked up my bag and departed the train at my station, leaving the wallet on the seat.

As I got off the platform, I walked to my car in the parking bay and drove to the supermarket. I reached inside my handbag to get take my wallet out and it was at that moment I realised I had left it on the train. My first reaction? “Oh no oh no oh no!” After 5 seconds of thought, “Fuck fuck fuck!!!!!!” (I curse a lot). I was sooooo annoyed with myself for being so careless! Then I suddenly had the brilliant silly idea of driving to the end of the train line to see if I could search the train once it was stationary. I drove sped to the last station of the line and miraculously made it. I searched my seat, but someone had taken it. It was inevitable that someone would take it, but it’s been three days since I’ve lost it and as no-one has handed it in, I’ve had to get everything replaced. Although it has been a hassle to cancel my credit cards, yes I have more than one, and replace the others, it could have been worse. I could have lost my phone, my iPod or my SLR camera (eeek!!) so I’m not too upset. It was my own fault anyway :(

It’s quite odd really, I have an excellent and somewhat freaky memory and I’m very good with quoting facts, lines from movies/television and I always remember people’s names and faces, but I tend to forget the simple everyday things. Other stupid things I have done:

  • As a teen, I would often leave the keys to the house still in the lock in the mornings and as I returned from school, they would still be hanging there. I’m surprised no-one has ever found them and stolen everything in my house.
  • Twice after cooking, I have forgotten to turn the oven off and it would be on for hours after I had cleaned up and finished. I would only realise it was still turned on when I was back in the kitchen and it would feel strangely warm. The first time I left it on, I actually left the house for a while. I’m simply amazed I didn’t burn the house down.
  • I have an old car and it doesn’t have automatic central locking, so I have to manually lock it with my keys or hold the door handle in as I close the door. I’ve locked my keys in the car many times, sometimes with the with the keys still in the ignition (but the car turned off). I’ve called my parents and boyfriend many times to bring a spare set of keys to where ever I am. Let’s just say they get rather annoyed!

See how stupid I can be? Luckily for me, nothing went wrong with the batch of biscuits I made this afternoon. And yes, don’t worry, the oven is switched off! :D

ginger2-2.jpg

Ginger Biscuits with Lemon Icing

This recipe is a simple one and makes wonderfully spiced biscuits. They aren’t overly sweet and the crystallised ginger provides a really nice subtle peppery aftertaste. The touch of lemon icing provides a hint of sweetness and tang and were absolutely magnificent with a glass of milk.

Adapted from a recipe by Bill Granger in ‘Holiday’.

175g unsalted butter, softened at room temperature

100g (¾ cup) icing sugar

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

250g (2 cups) plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

2 ½ teaspoons ground ginger

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground nutmeg

100g crystallised ginger, very finely chopped

Lemon Icing

60g ( ½ cup) icing sugar

a tablespoon of lemon juice

  1. Preheat the oven to 165°C. Line two baking trays with non-stick baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar together for a minute until very smooth. Add the vanilla extract.
  3. Sift the flour, salt, baking powder and ground spices over the butter mixture. Add the crystallised ginger. Gently combine until the flour disappears.
  4. Roll tablespoons of the dough into balls and set out onto the baking trays. Lightly squish the balls with the palm of your hand.
  5. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until light golden brown. Allow to cool on a baking tray for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
  6. For the icing, combine the icing sugar and lemon juice until smooth. Ice the biscuits however you like and allow to set.


18 Responses to “Ginger Biscuits with Lemon Icing”

  1. I would write this comment in Spanish if I could remember enough… alas, my Spanish lessons feel like a long way away right now. What a total pain in the ass, disaster to leave your wallet on the train! I’m so sorry. That is so not cool. Usually, once you go through the process of getting all your cards changed, that’s when it gets turned in! I’m glad it’s not getting you down too much! You still have your camera to take awesome pictures of delicious food. Comida delicioso! oh my…

  2. 2 Linda

    Gracias Joy! I’m so very glad I didn’t lose my camera! It was a total pain in the ass to lose the wallet, but I’m not too bummed about it. My boyfriend has just surprised me with a new wallet so I’m a very happy girl!

    I doubt it will get handed in, but fingers crossed!

    Mi español no muy bueno, pero mi novio habla domina el español y es muy útil! :)

  3. Que rico se vea tus galletitas con sus estrellitas! Me encanta galletas y queques con kion! Lo siento por la perdida de tu billetera, que pena y que frustracion! Espero que eso lo puedes leer. :) Aprender espanol esta en la practica.

  4. Losing your wallet would have been so frustrating, but if anything can make it better it’s these cookies, they look great!

  5. Tha totally stinks! I think losing your wallet could be the worst thing ever. One night last year, I stupidly left my purse in a car and some idiot stole it, taking all my keys, over 200 dollars in gift certificates, and most importantly my credit cards and checks. I had to deal with the bank and credit collectors. Needless to say, it was a pain in my ass. They spent over 3 grand, so whenever I hear stories about people losing their wallets I get all paranoid! Just be careful, girl :) I’m probably ten times more forgetful than anyone I’ve ever met, and it got me into a little trouble, but thankfully its all sorted out.

  6. Mmm those ginger and lemon cookies look delicious…

    And haha, I have done every single one of those things, too! Ok well I’ve never left just my wallet on the train, but one time I left my entire purse on one! And once, in high school, I had a test in the morning and was rushing to get there on time, and I got there on time – but my car was parked with the engine still running and the keys in the ignition and the doors unlocked. That was the worst. I am so glad no one drove off with my car. So actually, I’m worse than you… being forgetful sucks, but at least good things can still come out of our ovens! =)

  7. 7 Linda

    Gretchen – yay! My Spanish is terrible, but ‘puedo leer y poder entender un poquito de lo que usted ha escrito” (hope that’s right, eek!). Maybe you should start leaving comments in Spanish from now on :)

    Brillynn – Very frustrating, but worse could have happened. The cookies were very easy to make and eat, thank you!

    Amanda – Eeeek! I only lost $40 in cash and $110 in gift cards, but yours is so much worse! :( I’m glad it’s all sorted out now.

    Allison – LOL! I’ve never left the car on!

    I carry my camera with me everywhere so I’m glad I didn’t leave my bag. I can’t imagine losing everything in my bag, gah!!

  8. 8 David

    Hahahaha don’t worry…I’ve locked myself out of my car with the keys in the ignition that many times it’s not funny… “Hey RACV… errrrrr… I locked my keys in the car…” hahaha

  9. I am known for forgetting a pot holder so near to the stove that it catches on fire…which explains why there is not one without a hole currently at my house!!
    I am glad nothing worse happened. I know it is a royal pain in the ass but thank goodness you are safe!

  10. David – Hahahaha! Glad I’m not the only one. I don’t even have RACV so I rely on my poor parents or Z! :)

    Tartelette – Burnt tea-towels and potholders! I’ve done that too! :)

  11. 11 Fee

    Hey hun, I’m so sorry to hear about your wallet. I like that you chased the train!

    The bikkies look delish, I’m obsessed with ginger.

    Hopefully i see you during the week! Or at least Sunday! xoxoxxo

  12. I got this book 2 weeks ago and these cookies have been on my mind ever since – yours look absolutely beautiful!

  13. I adore those cookies. Soo cute.

  14. Fee Fee – Cheers! And of course I went after the train, it’s typical me, lol! See you Sunday for board games, food and fun in the park :)

    Patricia – Thanks! Bill Granger is awesome! You’ll love ‘Every Day’. All Bill Granger books are great (I have 4 of them, haha)

    Joanna – Gracias. Cute and yummy :)

  15. I just found your site from Joy The Baker’s blog and think it’s great! Definitely adding you to my blogroll!

  16. hahaha and i thought i was clumsy !!! :p sorry didnt mean to laugh out like that , but trust me it happens to me a lot too !
    The cookies look so nice with that star on them.

  17. Thanks Sweet and Saucy!

    Kate, it’s perfectly fine to laugh!! Haha, I laugh about it now :)

  18. 18 Lauren

    This might seem weird but I am Bree’s PR friend, Lauren. We had a sleep over the other night and she pulled out a bag with some crushed biscuits to share…and they were these biscuits! I must say, I’m not a fan of ginger but they were SO nice! You know how Bree’s always feeding people, she gave me the rest to take to work and I shared them with my colleague who loved them too!
    What a small world. This is such a good blog – Bree is always telling me about it and I’ve finally come and had a look. I’m sure you know this, but it’s indexed quite high on the Aust Blog Index – go you! I have to pick your brain some time…

    Hope to try more tasty treats soon (pass em on to Bree!)

    x


Leave a comment