Really Lemony Blueberry Yoghurt Cake

05Jul09

Lemon cake - small

Sunday is my favourite day of the week in winter. It’s the perfect day to stay indoors, curled up on the sofa with a warm blanket, a mug of hot tea and a little something sweet to nibble on. That “little something sweet” for this Sunday is this really lemony blueberry cake. I first saw it on Deb’s blog a year ago but had never tried to make it until this morning.

Bird's eye - small

It has a real “homely” aroma and feel to it, and it’s slightly spongy from the yoghurt. I’ve tweaked it a little to make it really lemony (hence the title, haha) and just changed a few other things. Deb has some great suggestions on how to jazz up this cake even further, so check it out and see what you come up with :)

Happy Sunday!

Really Lemony and Blueberry Yogurt Cake

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen.

1 ½ cups plain flour

big pinch of salt

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder

3 eggs

1 cup sugar

½ cup of vegetable oil

200g natural yoghurt

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

grated zest of 3 really big lemons

1 ½ cups blueberries, dried and tossed in 1 tablespoon flour

Icing

juice from 1 lemon

1 cup icing sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Grease a 20 centimetre (8 inch) square cake pan and line with baking paper.
  2. In a bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. In another bowl mix the eggs, sugar, oil, yoghurt, vanilla extract and lemon zest. Really bash the zest about to get the flavour out.
  4. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and gently combine. Lightly fold in the blueberries.
  5. Pour into prepared cake pan and bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown and a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean.
  6. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. Cool on a wire rack until completely cold.
  7. To make the icing, mix together the lemon juice and icing sugar and pour over cold cake. Allow to set, cut and serve :)

*This post (and virtual cake) is for Diyosa, a really great Flickr friend :)



27 Responses to “Really Lemony Blueberry Yoghurt Cake”

  1. 1 Rosa

    That looks so delicious! A wonderful cake!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. 2 Amanda

    I like the shiny glaze. It looks all fresh and clean haha. Sundays are the best, especially during winter when it’s cold outside and all you want to do is relax with a book. During summer it’s harder to lie around, unless you are by a pool. That is where I like to be, all summer long!!

  3. hi linda:)
    ı’m from Turkey..
    perfect photo,perfect recipes! :) look delicious everything:):)

    by the way , we are coeval!:)))

  4. 4 Beck

    You are an early bird! Looks like a yummy breakfast. Might have to give it a try with lemons hanging off my tree. Keep warm!

  5. 5 Emma

    Looks beautiful! Will definitely give this a go when I get some more plain flour (been baking too much!) and yoghurt. I’ll let you know how it goes :)

  6. looks delicious!

  7. The cake looks great!!! I remember seeing this recipe on Smitten Kitchen, and wanting to adapt it. But your adaptation seems perfect, I’m just going to make your version instead :P

  8. 8 Lisa

    Wow, this is absolutely gorgeous! It’s like a hint of sunshine on a wintery day.

  9. I couldn’t agree more about what you said…
    I also did a similar cake that my hubby and I enjoyed with a cup of tea.
    Your cake is tantalizing !

  10. 10 Sus

    Hey babe, your creations are amazing! Can’t believe you made these before our brunch. Would have done a lot better for afternoon tea than those chocolate crackles…

  11. oh, i love blueberries and lemon together! What a beautiful cake.

  12. 12 Rita

    Looks sooooo good!!!!

  13. 13 Emma

    Delicious and light. Made it today for my elderly parents. I just dusted it with icing sugar instead of icing. I also used only 1 lemon for rind as I wanted a lemony cake as opposed to a really lemony cake :)
    Will make again for sure.

  14. Sounds fabulous. Wish I could have a slice, I adore blueberry and lemon together

  15. 15 joey

    A cozy, wintry Sunday indoors sounds lovely…especially with the cake!

  16. Blueberries and lemon are such great friends, aren’t they?

  17. 17 buttersugarflour

    Thank you everyone! Am very happy to hear that it turned out well for those who have made it.

  18. I can’t wait to make this! I just bought the most perfect blueberries!

  19. 19 joanne

    I made this cake last night. It turned out dry and hard. I think the time stated (to be in the oven) is too long. I followed the steps mentioned. Just disappointed with the result.

    • 20 buttersugarflour

      Hi Joanne,

      Thanks for letting me know. I’m sorry to hear that your cake didn’t turn out the way you would have liked.

      Please bear in mind, when baking, everyone’s oven is different, so cooking times will always vary. I find when baking cakes, regardless of what the recipe states, you should never leave anything in the oven for the full stated time before checking. Always check the cake after about two-thirds of the stated time (in this case 30 minutes) to see how it’s going.

      I hope you will make the cake again. It really is a great cake.

  20. 21 oliver

    can i substitute real blueberries?

  21. It doesn’t just LOOK delicious…it IS.
    I discovered this recipe on your blog awile ago, made it for a “girlie morning tea” with friends ,
    and since then it has become the cake I get asked to make all the time. Love that tangy lemon glaze!
    So so good…Thank you :-)

  22. Looks heavenly. Definitely a must try! I never noticed this on Smitten Kitchen (which is how I found you).

  23. 24 Rana

    Hi,
    Do you store this in the fridge or cupboard as I am making this tonight and be serving in the morning?
    Thanks

    • 25 buttersugarflour

      Hi Rana, this cake should be fine to sit out in an airtight container overnight. No need to be refridgerated :)

  24. Hello, i like the recipe but i have got a problem with the glaze.

    I made it once but i couldn’t melt the sugar and you could taste it while eating. How do we make this smooth result?

  25. Congratulations for this page and all recipes there´s in.
    I really love blueberries, if you don´t mind I´ll try it.

    Kisses from Spain


Leave a comment